September 28, 2016

Whatever After Readalikes

Posted by at 1:18 am in Reads, Whatever After | Permalink

Whatever After booksOh, to live in a fairy tale! Talking animals, magic spells, exciting adventures . . . it would be so awesome. Well, it would be awesome if you managed to stay out of trouble, that is — and trouble is exactly what Abby and her kid brother Jonah end up in after stumbling through a magic mirror and into the worlds of their favorite fairy tales. After accidentally turning the stories upside down, they have to use their wits and bravery to turn them right-side up again. If you’re a fan of fairy tales, you probably already love this fantastic series. Once you’ve finished the latest book, chances are you’ll be looking for more fun fairy tale adventures–and that’s why we’ve put together this list of our favorite Whatever After readalikes!

Isle of the Lost: A Descendants Novel
It can be hard to live in the shadow of a famous parent. It’s even harder if that parent is famous for being a villain, and has been banished to live on an isolated island with other villains—and you’re stuck there, too! That’s the life Mal, daughter of Maleficient, and her friends (all children of Disney villains) have on the Isle of the Lost, where the only thing to do is learn how to be evil. But when a small break in the protective dome appears and activates Maleficent’s scepter, the kids are in a race against each other to find it first and use it for their own reasons…

Princess Academy
14-year-old Miri has lived a humble existence in the humble mining village of Mount Eskel, where it is expected that she will work in the quarry just like her family when she is old enough. But an unexpected prophecy by the king’s priests that the next princess will come from Mount Eskel turns Miri’s world on its head! Sent to a special academy with all the other eligible girls from the village, Miri must learn how to behave like a princess. But will living a life she’s only dreamed of be worth it?

The Tail of Emily Windsnap
Even though Emily Windsnap and her mom live on a houseboat, Emily’s never learned how to swim…and she finds out why during a swimming lesson at school: her legs turn into a fishtail! Thanks to her newfound ability, she discovers an underwater mer-city close by and learns more about who she is and her mysterious past. Determined to reunite with her merman father whom she’s never met, Emily embarks on a journey to find him — and learns several shocking things along the way!

The Wide-Awake Princess
Thanks to a spell from a fairy named Moonbeam, Princess Annie can’t be affected by magic. So when her older sister Gwendolyn — also known as Sleeping Beauty — falls asleep, Annie is the only person at the castle left awake. It’s up to Annie now to find Gwen’s true love to kiss her awake, and she sets off across the land in search of eligible princes to break the spell. Along the way she meets all manner of fairy tale characters…and maybe even finds a love of her own.

Ella Enchanted
When Ella is born, a well-meaning fairy gives her a “gift” that turns out to be more of a curse: Ella must obey any order that is given to her, even if it puts her in danger! She’s determined to break the curse, but not before she goes on a wild adventure involving evil stepsisters, ogres, giants, and a very charming prince. This funny book presents the story of Cinderella like you’ve never heard it before, and is sure to become one of your favorites!

Land of Stories: The Wishing Spell
On their twelfth birthday, twins Alex and Conner are given a book of fairy tales from their grandmother. It contains all the stories she used to read to them when they were younger. Suddenly, the book comes to life and plunges the twins into the magical Land of Stories — a land where all the fairy tale characters they read about are alive. The only way home is by following instructions in a mysterious journal to complete the Wishing Spell, which requires collecting eight special items from the Land of Stories. But it’s no easy task, and along the way Alex and Conner discover that they have a very special tie to this magical, wonderful land.

Ever After High: The Storybook of Legends
What if you decided not to follow your pre-written destiny? Raven Queen, daughter of the Evil Queen, is supposed to follow in her mother’s footsteps. At Ever After High, the special boarding school for the children of fairy tale characters, each student is required to sign the Storybook of Legends on Legacy Day to fulfill their destinies as princesses, princes, and villains. Raven isn’t too sure she wants to be evil . . . but refusing to follow her fate might prove disastrous not just for her, but everyone else in the Snow White story!

What do you think, fairy tale lovers? Have you read any of these books? Do you have any other recommendations for fans of Whatever After? Share in the Comments below!

En-Szu

  1. Scarletdress26

    I liked the whatever After books. Out of this list I have read Land of stories wishing spell (please read its my fav series), ella enchanted, Princess academy, the tail of Emily windsnap, and the isle of lost descendants novel.

  2. Nora

    I have read one of the Whatever After books. They are good and are great books. If you have time…. They aren’t too long but if you want to finish a book in a day, this is not the one. It took me about a week or so to finish it. I loved it and thought that is was cool book. You should try these if you like fairy tales, and cool adventure. In these books they also travel to different times in story time. You should totally read these!

Comments are closed.