July 18, 2012

Hatchet Readalikes

Posted by at 1:38 am in Reads | Permalink

Hatchet Books Like Hatchet!

Today’s Readalikes are for Hatchet by Gary Paulsen. When his plane crashes while flying over the Canadian wilderness, 13-year-old Brian is the only survivor in the middle of nowhere! The only thing he has to help him survive is a hatchet.

If you liked Hatchet by Gary Paulsen, you should read these other adventure survival stories for ages 10-12.

The River by Gary Paulsen
Did you know that Hatchet has sequels? Brian recreates his wilderness experiences for the government in The River until a freak storm makes the controlled scenario go wrong.

Brian’s Winter by Gary Paulsen
Brian’s Winter re-imagines Hatchet: what if Brian hadn’t been rescued at the end of summer and needed to survive the harsh Canadian winter in the wild?

Brian’s Return by Gary Paulsen
Finally, Brian realizes that he is more at home in the natural world than in civilization and he makes survival in the woods his normal life. See also Brian’s Hunt by Gary Paulsen.

Guts: The True Stories Behind Hatchet and the Brian Books by Gary Paulsen
Hatchet is based on true stories from author Gary Paulsen’s experiences as an emergency rescue volunteer. Read about the true plane crashes, moose encounters, and dinners of eyeballs and guts in the backwoods.

Far North by Will Hobbs
When their plane crashes near Canada’s Virginia Falls, 15-year-old Gabe and Raymond must rely on the tribal wisdom of a Dene elder to survival in the wilderness. See also other books by Will Hobbs.

Julie of the Wolves by Jean Craighead George
When Julie (also known as Miyax) runs away from home and becomes lost in the Alaskan tundra, a pack of wolves miraculously helps her to survive. See also the other books in the Julie series.

Shipwreck at the Bottom of the World: The Extraordinary True Story of Shackleton and the Endurance by Jennifer Armstrong
Read the true story of Ernest Shackleton and his crew as they become trapped in ice floes in their attempt to become the first explorers to cross Antarctica. They are forced to eat penguins to avoid starvation, and some develop severe frostbite, but they all survive.

Shackleton’s Stowaway by Victoria McKernan
It was an unlucky day when Perce Blackborow stowed away on the Endurance and became trapped along with the rest of Shackleton’s unlucky crew in the Antarctic ice.

The Worst Case Scenario Survival Handbook by Joshua Piven and David Borgenicht
Want to find out how to escape from quicksand? Shark attack? An erupting volcano? Read this frightening and funny hands-on guide to all kinds of dangerous situations.

A Girl Named Disaster by Nancy Farmer
In order to escape an arranged marriage, Nhamo attempts to flee her native Mozambique for Zimbabwe alone in a leaky boat.

Island Book #1: Shipwreck by Gordon Korman
6 troubled teens survive a shipwreck on an uninhabited island in the middle of the Pacific Ocean. See also the other books in the Island series.

Night of the Howling Dogs by Graham Salisbury
Dylan and Louie must team up to attempt a dangerous rescue of the rest of their Scout troop after an earthquake and a tsunami wreck their camp near a remote Hawaiian volcano… based on a true story!

Alabama Moon by Watt Key
10-year-old Moon has lived alone in the woods with his father for as long as he can remember. When his father dies, Moon must use his wilderness survival skills to try to navigate the outside world.

The Great Wide Sea by M.H. Herlong
3 brothers are on a year-long sailing trip trying to cope with their mother’s death when their father disappears overboard and they must struggle to stay afloat in their damaged boat.

Island of the Blue Dolphins by Scott O’Dell
After she jumps from a ship, a 12-year old girl lives alone on a Pacific island for 18 years, finding ways to survive.

The Wreckers by Iain Lawrence
There was once a village bred by evil. Then, upon that shore crashed the ship The Isle of Skye. The youngest of its crew members, 14-year-old John Spencer, survived the wreck. But would he escape the wreckers, the inhabitants of the island who are determined to kill him? See also the other books in the High Seas trilogy.

Hope you enjoy our Readalikes!

—Melissa, Scholastic Booktalker

  1. para

    I love survivaland this book was amazing!!!! I read it in 5th grade and i still love it!!!! I am in 7th now

Comments are closed.