November 14, 2012

Flipped Readalikes

Posted by at 1:21 am in Reads | Permalink

FlippedFlipped Readalikes

Today’s Readalikes are for Flipped by Wendelin Van Draanen. The first time Juli saw Bryce, she flipped. The first time he saw her, he ran. That was the 2nd grade, but in the 8th grade everything gets turned upside down. And just as he’s thinking there’s more to her than meets the eye, she’s thinking that he’s not quite all he seemed.

PS. This book was made into a movie in 2010.

If you loved Flipped, read these other stories of friendship, family, and being true to yourself for ages 10-13.

Bridge to Terabithia by Katherine Paterson
Jesse’s life is changed forever when he begins a magical friendship with the new girl Leslie.

Deliver Us from Normal by Kate Klise
Charles and his family pack up in the middle of the night and leave Normal, Illinois. Will his family ever be considered normal, or will they always be outcasts?

Crush: The Theory, Practice and Destructive Properties of Love by Gary Paulsen
Kevin overanalyzes everything, particularly his crush on Tina. But now that the male-model wannabe new kid Cash Devine is interested in her too, will Kevin even have a chance, much less the courage to speak to her?

Probably the World’s Best Story About a Dog and the Girl Who Loved Me by D. James Smith
Kidnapped dogs, new paper routes, and a girl who won’t leave him alone. How will Paolo get through this summer?

Hoot by Carl Hiaasen
Roy would have never guessed that he would be involved in saving rare owls when he moved to Florida.

Never Mind: A Twin Novel by Avi
Underachieving prankster Edward and perfectionist Meg may be twins, but they are nothing alike. As 7th-graders at different school, Meg thinks she can hide her brother from her popular, new friends, but Edward has other more embarrassing plans.

Eggs by Jerry Spinelli
Primose and David are both lonely and going through tough times in their lives. After meeting, they quickly realize that they are meant to be friends.

Boys are Dogs by Leslie Margolis
When Annabelle moves towns and switches from an all-girls school to a regular school, she quickly learns that boys need training, like her new puppy!

11 Birthdays by Wendy Mass
Now that they are no longer friends, Amanda and Leo won’t celebrate their birthdays together anymore. But what happens when Amanda and Leo wake up the next day and it’s their birthday . . . again! See also the sequels Finally and 13 Gifts.

The Strange Case of Origami Yoda by Tom Angleberger
Dwight is the weirdest kid at school, but his origami version of Yoda seems to know everything about everyone, especially their crushes! As they interact with the Jedi master, Tommy and his fellow 6th-graders realize that Dwight/Yoda is mysteriously wise, and may even be able to predict the future.

Stargirl by Jerry Spinelli
From the day she arrives at Mica High in a burst of color and sound, Stargirl sparks a school-spirit revolution with just one cheer. At first, the students of Mica High are enchanted. Then they turn on her, and Stargirl is suddenly shunned for everything that makes her different.

Schooled by Gordon Korman
Cap Anderson has never watched television or tasted a pizza. His only experience has been living on a farm commune and being home-schooled by his hippie grandmother. But when Cap is forced to attend the local middle school, no education could prepare him for the politics of public school. Right from the beginning, Cap’s weirdness makes him a moving target.

Hope you enjoy our Readalikes!

—Jen, Scholastic Booktalker

Add a Comment

For your safety, comments will not appear until the moderator has approved them.
Comments may be edited for appropriateness and personal information.

  1. elfheroine1

    This book was so good! It should have gone on more! But you should know before you read that there was one swear word.

  2. pinkcake 606

    Well i nerver heard of that book but wat’s up cool kids please write me back about that book my friends are cool

  3. turqouiseunicorn50

    i have this book but i havent seen the movie!!!! this book is a good choice for boys and girls!!!!! a little bit romantic though!!!!

  4. S

    I heard about the book and want to read it. i live in Ghana, a West African country but i don’t know how to get it. need some help!