May 9, 2012

Beezus and Ramona Readalikes

Posted by at 12:46 am in Reads | Permalink

Beezus and Ramona You know when you find an amazing book, and you never want it to end? How do you find another book to read after that? Our answer: Readalikes to the rescue! We hope our Readalikes will rescue you from the what-to-read-next question, and help you find lots of new amazing books.

Let’s start with the classic story of older sister and younger sister, Beezus and Ramona by Beverly Cleary. 5-year-old Ramona drives her big sister Beezus CRAZY! It is not that Ramona deliberately sets out to make trouble. She simply has more imagination than is healthy for any one person, and it somehow always causes problems.

There are a bunch of books in that series, as well as the movie Ramona and Beezus. But once you’ve finished all those, what to read next? Try these other books about dealing with sisters, school, and everyday life problems for ages 8-10.

Ten Rules for Living with My Sister by Ann M. Martin
When her grandfather moves in, 9-year-old Pearl must adjust to living with her 13-year-old, insanely popular sister Lexie.

Ten Ways to Make My Sister Disappear by Norma Fox Mazer
10-year-old Sprig has a love-hate relationship with her older sister. Sometimes they get along ok, but sometimes Sprig just wants her to disappear.

The Sisters Club by Megan McDonald 
Sisters Alex, Stevie, and Joey tell their individual stories about what it’s like to be a sister.

Just Grace by Charise Mericle Harper
With so many Graces in her 3rd grade class, Grace Stewart gets stuck with the name “Just Grace” even though she is far from normal.

Sassy: Little Sister Is Not My Name by Sharon Draper
9-year-old Sassy hates being the smallest in her school and the youngest in her family, so she attempts to stand out using her expertise in fashion.

Piper Reed: Navy Brat by Kimberly Holt
As a Navy aircraft mechanic, Piper’s father must uproot his family yet again, so 9-year-old Piper has to deal with being the new kid in Florida.

Clementine by Sara Pennypacker
3rd grader Clementine has a disagreement with her best friend Margaret, and it seems like her world is coming to an end.

Happy Birthday, Sophie Hartley by Stephanie Greene
Sophie is excited to finally be turning 10 and to be in the double digits, but she soon learns that growing up can bring unwanted changes.

Allie Finkle’s Rules for Girls Book #1: Moving Day by Meg Cabot
9-year-old Allie knows it all and has a rule for everything, but when she learns her family is moving across town, she realizes she needs more rules.

Amelia Rules Book #1: The Whole World’s Crazy by Jimmy Gownley
4th grader Amelia humorously struggles with moving from Manhattan to a small town with her mom and aunt after her parents’ divorce.

The Penderwicks: A Summer Tale of Four Sisters, Two Rabbits, and a Very Interesting Boy by Jeanne Birdsall
Four motherless sisters aged 4-12 vacation with their father in Massachusetts where they encounter the snobby Mrs. Tifton and her pianist son, Jeffrey.

Casson Family Book #1: Saffy’s Angel by Hilary McKay
The eccentric, lovable Casson family has been raising their niece Saffron as their own, but when Saffy discovers she’s adopted, the family travels to Italy to get a special token from her past.

Turtle in Paradise by Jennifer L. Holm
Since her mother’s housekeeping job does not allow children, 11-year-old Turtle is sent from New Jersey to live with relatives in Key West in the summer of 1935.

Moxy Maxwell Does Not Love Stuart Little by Peggy Gifford
Summer is about to end and soon to be 4th Grader Moxy has done just about everything over the summer except read her assigned book, Stuart Little.

Amelia’s Notebooks by Marissa Moss
Moving away from your best friend isn’t fun, but at least Amelia has her notebook to write about her life as she struggles with friends, school and of course, gossip. See also the other books in the Amelia’s Notebooks series.

Hank Zipzer Book #1: Niagara Falls, or Does It? by Henry Winkler and Lin Oliver
Hank always finds himself in crazy situations, but he’s a good kid! Why does he always get into trouble? See also the other books in the Hank Zipzer series.

Pandora Gets Jealous by Carolyn Hennesy
In an effort to make her classmates jealous, thirteen year old Pandy brings her father’s special box to school and ends up releasing all the evils from inside.

Hope you enjoy our Readalikes!

—Amanda, Scholastic Booktalker

Add a Comment

For your safety, comments will not appear until the moderator has approved them.
Comments may be edited for appropriateness and personal information.

  1. Breiana

    this story is the best because
    i like how the older sister dose not like her little sister then the older one turn’s nice to he

    Reply
  2. kimbo

    I love this book so much. I have seen the movie like 100 times and I am not joking. I have red the book like five times. Now that shows how much I like it.

    Reply
  3. dodgerfan4

    OMG!! i totally loved reading these book when i was in 1st and 2nd grade. i am trying to start reading them agian but i can’t find them. i love the books so much i saw the movie and i now i keep watching it over and over agian in till i get bored which will never happen in a million years.

    Reply
  4. teamlibrary2

    I like Ramona and Beezus it give peolpe a chance to see the difference from a detailed book and a movie.My favorite is the book because it shows what a true sister could be and what a person could be if they didn’t care.Sometimes its good to read because then you know about things that could help you in life if you encourage someone to read.I love to read BUT my teachers don’t see that in me because i don’t show it. It’s better to read first then afterwards you can watch the movie.

    Reply
  5. Ally

    I read the book and I saw the movie. They were both great. Very nice plots along with the rest of the story.

    Reply
  6. Isla Silvercresent

    thats a really cute book and ramona is such a talented and imaginative young girl! love her

    Reply
  7. emily b

    i think that this book is so amazing i’v already seen the movie!!! that’s how good i thought it was

    Reply
  8. Chickenaqua36

    That book was so good. It felt like it happens for real. In fact when I start my book club. I am going to use that book.

    Reply