January 26, 2009

And the Award Goes to . . .

Posted by at 7:47 pm in Reads | Permalink

The American Library Association awards were announced today! The Newbery, Caldecott, and a whole bunch of other exciting and important awards for the best children’s books of the year were announced this morning from Denver, CO.

Here is the rundown of the winners (and the Honor books too — a.k.a. the runners-up):

GraveyardbookNewbery Medal
Awarded for the most distinguished contribution to American literature for children.

The Graveyard Book by Neil Gaiman

Honor Books:
The Underneath by Kathi Appelt, illustrated by David Small
The Surrender Tree: Poems of Cuba’s Struggle for Freedom by Margarita Engle
Savvy by Ingrid Law
After Tupac & D Foster by Jacqueline Woodson

House-in-the-night-coverCaldecott Medal
Awarded for the most distinguished American picture book for children.

The House in the Night by Beth Krommes
Honor Books:
A Couple of Boys Have the Best Week Ever, written and illustrated by Marla Frazee
How I Learned Geography, written and illustrated by Uri Shulevitz
A River of Words: The Story of William Carlos Williams, illustrated by Melissa Sweet, written by Jen Bryant


Geisel Award
Awarded for the most distinguished American “beginning reader” book.

Are You Ready to Play Outside? by Mo Willems

Honor Books:
Chicken said, ‘Cluck!’ by Judyann Ackerman Grant, illustrated by Sue Truesdell
One Boy, written and illustrated by Laura Vaccaro Seeger
Stinky, written and illustrated by Eleanor Davis
Wolfsnail: A Backyard Predator by Sarah C. Campbell, with photographs by Sarah C. Campbell and Richard P. Campbell

Jellicoeroad Printz Award
Awarded for the most distinguished Young Adult book.

Jellicoe Road by Melina Marchetta

Honor Books:
The Astonishing Life of Octavian Nothing, Traitor to the Nation, Volume II, The Kingdom on the Waves by M.T. Anderson
The Disreputable History of Frankie Landau-Banks by E. Lockhart
Nation by Terry Pratchett
Tender Morsels by Margo Lanagan

AcurseasdarkasgoldWilliam C. Morris Award
Awarded for the most distinguished Young Adult book by a first-time author writing for teens.

A Curse Dark as Gold by Elizabeth C. Bunce

Margaret A. Edwards Award
Awarded for lifetime achievement in writing for young adults.

Laurie Halse Anderson

WeareshipsSibert Medal
Awarded for the most distinguished informational book.

We Are the Ship by Kadir Nelson
Honor Books:
Bodies from the Ice: Melting Glaciers and Rediscovery of The Past by James M. Deem
What to Do About Alice?: How Alice Roosevelt Broke the Rules, Charmed the World, and Drove Her Father Teddy Crazy! written by Barbara Kerley, illustrated by Edwin Fotheringham

WeareshipsCoretta Scott King Awards
Recognizes one African-American author and and one African-American illustrator.

Author Winner:
We Are the Ship by Kadir Nelson

Author Honor Books:
The Blacker the Berry by Joyce Carol Thomas, illustrated by Floyd Cooper
Keeping the Night Watch by Hope Anita Smith, illustrated by E.B. Lewis
Becoming Billie Holiday by Carole Boston Weatherford, illustrated by Floyd Cooper

TheblackerberryIllustrator Winner:
The Blacker the Berry 
illustrated by Floyd Cooper and written by Joyce Carol Thomas

Illustrator Honor Books:
We Are the Ship: The Story of Negro League Baseball written and illustrated by Kadir Nelson
Before John Was a Jazz Giant by Carole Boston Weatherford, illustrated by Sean Qualls
The Moon Over Star by Dianna Hutts Aston, illustrated by Jerry Pinkney

JustincasePura Belpre Awards
Recognizes one Latino/Latina writer and one Latino/Latina writer illustrator whose work best portray, affirm, and celebrate the Latino cultural experience.

Illustrator Winner:
Just in Case by Yuyi Morales
Illustrator Honor Books:
Papa and Me illustrated by Rudy Gutierrez, written by Arthur Dorros
The Storyteller’s Candle / La velita de los cuentos illustrated by Lulu Delacre, written by Lucia Gonzalez
What Can You Do with a Rebozo? illustrated by Amy Cordova, written by Carmen Tafolla
 Author Winner:
The Surrender Tree by Margarita Engle

Author Honor Books:
Just in Case by Yuyi Morales
Reaching Out by Francisco Jimenez
The Storyteller’s Candle /La velita de los cuentos written by Lucia Gonzalez

 Schneider Award
Awarded for books that embody the artistic expression of the disability experience.

Teen Winner:
Jerk, California by Jonathan Friesan
Middle School Winner:
ThepianostartshereWaiting for Normal by Leslie Connor
Grade School Winner:
Piano Starts Here: The Young Art Tatum by Robert Andrew Parker

Carnegie Medal
Awarded for outstanding American video production.

March On! The Day My Brother Martin Changed the World, produced by Weston Woods

Laura Ingalls Wilder Award
Recognizes an author or illustrator whose books have made a substantial and lasting contribution to literature for children.

Ashley Brian

MoribitoBatchelder Award
Awarded for the most outstanding children’s book originally published in a language other than English in a country other than the United States.

Moribito: Guardian of the Spirit by Nahoko Uehasi, translated by Cathy Hirano
Honor Books:
Garmann’s Summer by Stian Hole, translated by Don Bartlett
Tiger Moon by Antonia Michaelis, translated by Anthea Bell

The-absolutely-ture-diary-of-a-part-time-indianOdyssey Award
Awarded for excellence in audiobook production.

The Absolutely True Diary of a Part-Time Indian
, read by Sherman Alexie

Honor Audiobooks:
Curse of the Blue Tattoo: Being an Account of the Misadventures of Jacky Faber, Midshipman and Fine Lady written by L.A. Meyer, narrated by Katherine Kellgren
Elijah of Buxton written by Christopher Paul Curtis, narrated by Mirron Willis
I’m Dirty! written by Kate & Jim McMullan, narrated by Steve Buscemi
Martina the Beautiful Cockroach: A Cuban Folktale, written and narrated by Carmen Agra Deedy
Nation written by Terry Pratchett, narrated by Stephen Briggs

Did any of your favorite books win?

— Sonja, Scholastic.com Editor

Comments are closed.