July 24, 2014

The Fault in Our Stars Readalikes

Posted by at 1:04 am in Reads | Permalink

Recommend me!When You’re Not Old Enough for The Fault in Our Stars by John Green

If you’ve seen a movie or visited a book store in the past few months, you’ve probably heard about a movie based on a book called The Fault in Our Stars (rated PG-13). I bet you can practically hear your older sister gushing about it. Here’s the bottom line: TFIOS is about two teenagers with cancer who fall in love, and by the end of the book, one of them dies. The falling in love part is sappy, and the dying part is downright depressing, so this book is definitely not for kids under 13. But if the fact that the book has been glued to big sis’s hands has made you curious, what are some similar books for kids your age?

Are you 8 or older?

Wonder by R.J. Palacio. Auggie Pullman has a facial deformity that has kept him homeschooled until now: the fifth grade. Wonder is Auggie’s story of navigating a new school, making new friends, and learning new rules. Like TFIOS, this realistic fiction novel will bring on the waterworks, but with this book, they’ll be tears of joy.

Breadcrumbs by Anne Ursu. Hazel and Jack were best friends – before a freak accident caused Jack to mysteriously disappear into the woods with a woman made of ice. Breadcrumbs reminds me of TFIOS because both books are about the things we leave behind when we enter the unknown.

Rules by Cynthia Lord. Catherine just wants to be a regular 12-year-old, but having a brother with autism and a family that revolves around his disability always keeps her from a normal life. Rules asks one of the very same questions as TFIOS: What is normal?

Are you 9 or older?

Gossamer by Lois Lowry. Why do we dream the way we do? Where do our dreams come from? This novel walks the line between imagination and reality. After this read, you’ll definitely have your thinking hat on for when you’re old enough to read TFIOS!

Radiance by Alyson Noel. Riley has moved on to the afterlife, but finds that paradise isn’t all fun and games. She’s assigned a job as Soul Catcher and must help a certain soul cross the bridge – a soul four other people have not been able to bring to the afterlife. What happens after people die is a big question in TFIOS. Radiance gives us a peak at one possibility!

Are you 10 or older?

The Graveyard Book by Neil Gaiman. Nobody ‘Bod’ Owens is just a toddler when he stumbles into the graveyard after his family is murdered. It’s there that Bod starts his life, under the protection of the graveyard’s many ghosts. I know what you’re thinking: What on Earth does this have in common with TFIOS? But this book, too, examines life, death, and what comes after – so there you have it.

Tuck Everlasting by Natalie Babbitt. Ten-year-old Winnie Foster stumbles upon members of the Tuck family who have been given eternal life after drinking from a magic spring. The Tucks explain to Winnie that they are both blessed and doomed to stay the same age forever. Like TFIOS, Tuck Everlasting examines life and death.

Out of My Mind by Sharon M. Draper. Melody is a brilliant and talented fifth grader with a photographic memory. But cerebral palsy leaves her unable to communicate with others, and she often feels like a goldfish stuck in a bowl, only able to observe the outside world from inside her head.  Melody feels trapped by her condition, much like the main character of TFIOS also does. What does it take to rise above the thing you have no control over?

Mockingbird by Kathryn Erskine. As an 11-year-old with Asperger’s syndrome, Caitlin doesn’t know how to deal with her brother’s death. Caitlin decides she and her father need “closure” after she reads its definition in the dictionary. Mockingbird’s theme of closure will certainly translate to the end of TFIOS when you get there!

Counting by 7s by Holly Goldberg Sloan. Willow is a 12-year-old child genius whose greatest comfort is counting by 7s. When her parents die in a tragic accident, Willow must decide to push through her grief. Also like TFIOS, Counting by 7s will give you a snapshot of grief – and most importantly, what it takes to get through it.

So there you have it! We hope these fantastic, realistic fiction recommendations will tide you over until you’re old enough to take on The Fault in Our Stars!

Marisa, STACKS Intern

Add a Comment

For your safety, comments will not appear until the moderator has approved them.
Comments may be edited for appropriateness and personal information.

  1. BookAmber28

    Oh how I wish I could read The Fault In Our Stars! But I’m only 12! (So it’s not too long, i guess.) Most of the people I know say It’s reaaaaally AWESOME! Need to read it sooo badly!

    But I have read WONDER and It’s a really good book. If you can’t read TFIOS just yet, you should totally read WONDER! Trust me u you’ll <3 it.
    Trust me

    Reply
  2. Maddi

    I loved the fault in our stars<3 it was a good book, yeah there can be curse works in it but its not that bad. It might not be realistic? but its still really good if you like love stories and yeah the ended was sad but stuff like that happens. I wouldn't suggest younger kids because they will think its stupid and the people who say they hate it so much, must not have understood it or maybe wished it went their way instead of the author's way. I cried a bunch reading this, mostly near the end but it was really good. Also one more thing, the author never had cancers, but he tried to make the point of view from a girl with cancer and that's hard. So yeah maybe its not realistic but it is a fiction book but he tried his best and a lot of people loved it.

    Reply
  3. Karen K

    I read TFIOS it’s ok I guess I just never liked Gus and I suggest that 13 and older kids should read it since it cusses a lot

    Reply
  4. purplecrest34

    I read TFIOS and love it so much! I saw the movie and was in a pool of tears. Shai and Ansel rock the big screen. It’s a brilliant story. If you are at least 11 and can handle gushy romance then I suggest you read it. But the movie is not for any younger than 12. ;)

    Reply
    1. purplecrest34

      Thank you! After looking at the other comments I felt kinda upset but now I know someone actually likes it! That’s great. It deserves more credit than it gets.

  5. Strangerspider14

    I saw the movie and it was the saddest movie I have ever seen. I cried my heart out the whole movie.

    Reply
  6. Madison

    I have never heard of The Fault In Our Stars, but yes, it does sound vvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvveeeeeeeeeeeeeeerrrrrrrrrrrryyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyy inappropriate. So im never reading it!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I know this is weird, but i have never heard of any of the books recommended.

    Reply
  7. Spunkykitten4

    I love all those books recommended to us. And read all of them as well. I agree with inappropriateness of The Fault in Our Stars. It is basically a book about two teens with cancer dating. But IT IS SO UNREALISTIC!!!! I know people who have been though it, and, they say “OMG, that’s not true!” It was meant for a girl with cancer, and SHE didn’t like the book. I guess some people would love that book, and movie…. if they like kissing every four seconds but me….no. The Dawn Rochelle series is way more realistic and way better!!! It even has a little bit of romance… but not the kind where you close the book and say “eww”
    Best Books Recommended:
    Out of my Mind
    Rules
    Wonder
    Mockingbird
    Counting by Sevens
    Radience
    I disagree with telling what books we should and shouldn’t read. But this, is for your own safety. DO NOT READ THE FAULT IN OUR STARS!

    Reply
  8. Madeleine

    I’ve read all of those books except The Faults in our Star which I started and hated so much, I threw it against the wall five times before I decided it was a total waste of my time. Usually I give books a chance but that one not so much…

    Reply