April 9, 2014

Chronicles of Narnia Readalikes

Posted by at 2:08 pm in Reads | Permalink

Chronicles of Narnia: The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe book coverChronicles of Narnia Readalikes

You know when you find an amazing book, and you never want it to end? How do you find another book to read after that? Our answer: Readalikes to the rescue! We hope our Readalikes will rescue you from the what-to-read-next question, and help you find lots of new amazing books.

In The Chronicles of Narnia: The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe by C. S. Lewis, 4 kids discover a secret entrance (through a wardrobe) into a magical world (with a talking lion . . . and a witch)!

There are 7 books in The Chronicles of Narnia series, plus 3 movies (and rumors of a fourth!), but once you’ve finished all those, what to read next? Look for these other exciting books for ages 8-12 about smart, brave kids going on magical adventures.

The Search for WondLa by Tony DiTerlizzi
The only home Eva Nine has ever known is an underground Sanctuary, cared for by a robot. Her search for another human being brings her into a strange above-ground world.

Dragon Rider by Cornelia Funke
With a lonely boy named Ben on board, the brave, young dragon Firedrake sets out on a journey to find the mythical place where silver dragons can live in peace forever. They encounter fantastic creatures, and cross the path of a ruthless villain with an ancient grudge who’s determined to end their quest. Will Ben and Firedrake be able to find the Rim of Heaven so all dragons can finally live in peace?

 The Underland Chronicles: Gregor the Overlander by Suzanne Collins
In the first book of the Underland Chronicles, Gregor loses his little sister as she tumbles down the laundry chute into an underground world where spiders, bats, cockroaches, and rats are about to make war.

Chronicles of Pyrdain Book #1: The Book of Three by Lloyd Alexander
A strong-willed princess, a talkative bard, and an assistant pig-keeper with dreams of becoming a hero all join forces in this funny and epic adventure. See also the other books in the Chronicles of Prydain series.

Half Magic by Edward Eager
Four kids discover a magic coin so old that only half of its magic works, wreaking unexpected havoc on all their wishes.

Where the Mountain Meets the Moon by Grace Lin
A village girl named Minli goes on a journey to find the Old Man of the Moon and meets a dragon along the way.

Any Which Wall by Laurel Snyder
Henry, Emma, Roy, and Susan find a magic wall that will take them any place and any time they’d like to go.

Chrestomanci: Charmed Life by Dianne Wynne Jones
Cat and his older sister Gwendolyn, a young but powerful witch, attract the attention of The Chrestomanci, the most powerful enchanter in the world. See also the other books in the Chrestomanci series.

Winterling by Sarah Prineas
Fer has never quite felt like she belongs in this world, so she’s eager to follow Puck into a faery kingdom, even though it’s a dangerous world of winter.

Peter and the Starcatchers by Dave Barry and Ridley Pearson
Peter and his fellow orphans set sail aboard the Never Land, a ship secretly carrying a precious and mysterious cargo, and the journey quickly becomes fraught with excitement and danger. Treacherous battles with pirates, foreboding thunderstorms at sea, mysterious sea creatures, and angry natives race the story along to finally reveal how Peter becomes the infamous Peter Pan. See also the other books in the Starcatchers series.

The Books of Beginning Book #1: The Emerald Atlas by John Stephens
Kate, Michael, and Emma have been tossed from one orphanage to another for the last ten years. Yet, these unwanted children are more remarkable than they could possibly imagine. Ripped from their parents as babies, they are being protected from a horrible evil they know nothing about. . .Until now. See also the other books in The Books of Beginning series.

His Dark Materials Book #1: The Golden Compass by Philip Pullman
11-year-old Lyra is a precocious orphan growing up within Jordan College in Oxford, England, but Lyra’s world is not precisely like our own. In Lyra’s world, everyone has a personal dæmon, a lifelong animal familiar that represents her soul. Lyra and her daemon are about to embark on the adventure of a lifetime. See also the other books His Dark Materials Trilogy.

Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone by J. K. Rowling
Harry Potter has no idea how famous he is. That’s because he’s being raised by his mean aunt and uncle who are terrified Harry will learn that he’s really a wizard, just as his parents were. But everything changes when Harry is summoned to attend the Hogwarts School of Witchcraft and Wizardry, and he begins to discover some clues about his illustrious birthright. See also the other books in the Harry Potter series.

Hope you like our Readalikes!

–Melissa, Scholastic Booktalker

Add a Comment

For your safety, comments will not appear until the moderator has approved them.
Comments may be edited for appropriateness and personal information.

  1. GeniusOne

    I love the Harry Potter series. I read the whole series during winter break one year! As for the Chronicles of Narnia, I read some….

    Reply
  2. shelby

    I love your I Survived I`v read six and now reading the Nazi invasion I love it so far I`v read the attacks of september 11 the shark attacks hurricane Katrina the battle of Gettysburg the Japanese Tsunami and the san fran earthquake I love them and hoping to get the searisse I only have one and my favorite one is either the san Francisco earthquake or the battle of Gettysburg .

    Reply