January 1, 2014

A Series of Unfortunate Events Readalikes

Posted by at 1:21 am in Reads | Permalink

seriesunfortunate_events130A Series of Unfortunate Events Readalikes

You know when you find an amazing book, and you never want it to end? How do you find another book to read after that? Our answer: Readalikes to the rescue! We hope our Readalikes will rescue you from the what-to-read-next question, and help you find lots of new amazing books.

In A Series of Unfortunate Events Book #1: The Bad Beginning by Lemony Snicket, a greedy relative will stop at nothing to ensure he gets the inheritance left to Violet, Klaus, and Sunny. However, he doesn’t realize that their cleverness outmatches his!

There are 13 books in A Series of Unfortunate Events, plus a movie starring Jim Carrey, but once you’ve finished all those, what to read next? Look for these other exciting books for ages 9-12 about smart, brave kids going on adventures and solving mysteries.

The Mysterious Benedict Society by Trenton Lee Stewart
Four children are selected for a secret undercover mission while attending the Learning Institute for the Very Enlightened. See also the other books in the Mysterious Benedict Society series.

Alcatraz vs. the Evil Librarians by Brandon Sanderson
When foster child Alcatraz turns 13, he starts a crazy adventure against evil librarians, and reveals a secret talent, and a call to save the world from destruction. See also the other books in the Alcatraz series.

Larklight by Philip Reeve
Someone is out to destroy the solar system, and Arthur and his sister Myrtle are determined to foil their plans.

Heck: Where the Bad Kids Go by Dale E Basye
After dying in a freak marshmallow bear explosion, Milton and his sister Marlo are sent to Heck, a reform school for the no-longer-living – and they can’t wait to escape. See also the other books in the Circles of Heck series.

Artemis Fowl by Eoin Colfer
It’s fairies vs. a 12-year-old evil genius mastermind who is trying to steal their gold. But he has no idea what he is up against! See also the other books in the Artemis Fowl series.

Edge Chronicles: Beyond the Deepwoods by Paul Stewart
After feeling like he never fit in, Twig learns that he was adopted by his Woodtroll family. He sets out on an adventure outside of Deepwoods to find where he belongs. See also the other books in The Edge Chronicles.

Trolls by Polly Horvath
Eccentric Aunt Sally comes from Canada to babysit the Anderson children while their parents are on a trip to Paris. Every night, her bedtime story adds another piece to a very suspicious family history.

Molly Moon’s Incredible Book of Hypnotism by Georgia Byng
Orphan Molly Moon discovers she has the ability to hypnotize just about anyone to believe just about anything – so she uses her newfound powers to become famous.

The Thief Lord by Cornelia Funke
Two orphan brothers have a magical adventure after they flee their aunt and join a criminal ring of street children.

Whales on Stilts by M. T. Anderson
Killer tarantulas, an army of whales, screaming ventriloquists are just some of the crazy characters featured in these stories. Take a walk on the wild side with these crazy detective stories. See also the other books in the Thrilling Tales series.

Into the Woods by Lyn Gardner
Three sisters are running from the evil Dr. DeWilde, searching for a way to keep him from taking control of the entire land.

Hope you like our Readalikes!

–Emily, Scholastic Booktalker

Add a Comment

For your safety, comments will not appear until the moderator has approved them.
Comments may be edited for appropriateness and personal information.

  1. Gabby

    I mean to me I used to hate Harry potter with a capital h and then in school we had an ar reading thingy and the leader boards came out and this boy had like 146 points cause he was reading Harry potter so i started to read it too and. Now I love it like what

    Reply
  2. Sarah

    I I am 12 years old My name is Sarah I’m in and I like that Dragon mystery of the Mistry water of the earth Dragon that the little kid that is name is Luke and he actually read the book and he’s 87 I like how he said the book was exciting you have a top me to help my friends when they are in trouble I love that shows respect and I love six grade and I like all those ones all the books I like sad like a mad and read has got the blues and Lake happy holidays monster high

    Reply
  3. Anonymous

    my dad has them but i’m not so sure. help!! plus when is he making the third book of the all the wrong questions series?

    Reply
  4. Anonymous

    just a reconmedation, but i love these books and i also love the royal diaries series. they r historical fiction

    Reply
  5. Anonymous

    just to say, i loved these books, and lemony snickets other books- all the wrong questions series- r awesome too

    Reply
  6. Anonymous

    i love this series so many times and i love them, this is really helpful. i have already some of the books listed here

    Reply
  7. Anonymous

    reading is so much FUN!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Reply
  8. Sam

    I have never even heard of these books but they sound interesting so I will have to read them. Most of these reminded me of “Magic Theif” by Sarah Prineas.

    Reply
  9. catgymnastics173

    I’ve had some Readalikes in my life, too. Like once, I found a book that didn’t look good. It was called “Flora and Ulysses”. Once I read it, start to end, it was great! Another book I’m going to try that sounds like a Readalike is “Meet Saige”. I’ve seen the movie going to it, so I’m going to try it!

    Reply