June 5, 2013

The Kane Chronicles Readalikes

Posted by at 12:56 am in Reads | Permalink

KaneChronicles130The Kane Chronicles Readalikes

You know when you find an amazing book that you never want to end? How do you find another book to read after that? Our answer: Readalikes to the rescue! We hope our Readalikes will rescue you from the what-to-read-next question, and help you find lots of new amazing books.

Today’s Readalikes are for The Kane Chronicles series by Rick Riordan. These books follow Sadie and Carter Kane as they discover that Set, the Egyptian god of chaos and destruction, is alive and kicking in the modern world, and he’s out to destroy them! 

There are 3 books in The Kane Chronicles series, plus the Survival Guide, but once you’ve finished all those, what to read next? Look for these other fantasy books about ancient magic and mythology for ages 9-12.

  • Beyonders Book #1: A World Without Heroes by Brandon Mull
    Jason Walker is on an ordinary trip to the zoo when he is suddenly transported into a dangerous magical realm. See also the other books in the Beyonders series.
  • Theodosia and the Serpents of Chaos by R. L. LaFevers
    Theodosia Throckmorton has her hands full at the Museum of Legends and Antiquities in London. Her father may be head curator, but it is Theo—and only Theo—who is able to see all the black magic and ancient curses that still cling to the artifacts in the museum. Sneaking behind her father’s back, Theo uses old, nearly forgotten Egyptian magic to remove the curses and protect her father and the rest of the museum employees from the ancient, sinister forces that lurk in the museum’s dark hallways. See also the other books in the Theodosia series.
  • The Egypt Game by Zilpha Keatley Snyder
    Melanie Ross and April Hall love Egypt so much that they form a secret society to hold secret Egyptian ceremonies . . .but the game goes too far when strange things begin to happen.
  • The Jaguar Stones Book #1: Middleworld by John and Pamela Voelkel
    In the first book of the Jaguar Stones series, Max Murphy’s parents are taken prisoner in the Mayan underworld and he must fight the Lord of Death to rescue them. See also the other books in The Jaguar Stones series.
  • Ancient Egypt: Tales of Gods and Pharaohs by Marcia Williams
    Comic-strip style illustrations tell the stories of Cleopatra, King Tut, Osirus, Hatshepsut, and other gods and rulers of Ancient Egypt.
  • Oracles of Delphi Keep by Victoria Laurie
    Ian and Theo Wigby discover a silver box containing an ancient Greek prophecy with their names in it. See also the other books in the Oracles of Delphi keep series.
  • Seven Wonders Book #1: The Colossus Rises by Peter Lerangis
    Jack McKinley will die unless he finds relics of a lost civilization hidden in the Seven Wonders of the Ancient World. See also the other books in the Seven Wonders series.
  • Infinity Ring Book#1: A Mutiny in Time by James Dashner
    Dak Smyth and Sera Froste find a time-travel device and must travel through time to fix mistakes that could undo history as we know it. Their first stop is the voyage of Christopher Columbus. See also the other books in the Infinity Ring series.
  • The Blackwell Pages Book #1: Loki’s Wolves by K.L. Armstrong and M.A. Marr
    Most of the residents of Blackwell, South Dakota are descendants of Norse gods Thor or Loki… and they must take the gods’ places in Ragnarok, the epic battle at the end of the world.
  • The Oracle Prophesies Book #1: The Oracle Betrayed by Catherine Fisher
    Mirany, an oracle’s apprentice, and Seth, a tomb-robbing scribe, join forces to root out a traitorous plot to rule their world. See also the other books in The Oracle Prophecies
  • Percy Jackson and the Olympians Book #1: The Lightning Thief by Rick Riordan
    Percy discovers that he is a half-blood; his mother is human, but the father he has never known is Poseidon, God of the Seas! As a demi-god, Percy is in a lot of danger, because his father has some powerful enemies who want Percy killed. See also the other books in the Percy Jackson series, and the Heroes of Olympus series.

Hope you enjoy our Readalikes! PS. Read an excerpt of Rick Riordan’s new story “The Son of Sobek” featuring Percy Jackson and Carter Kane.

—Melissa, Scholastic Booktalker

Add a Comment

For your safety, comments will not appear until the moderator has approved them.
Comments may be edited for appropriateness and personal information.

  1. moose12345678910

    Rick Riordan is an amazing author. He writes fantastic books that makes me want to read more, more and more.

    Reply
  2. lura

    I love the kane series by him and the percy Jackson series and the 39 clues series and the heroes of Olympus series. all of his books are good. just got the house of hades from my school library. :) :) :) :) :) :) :) :) :) :) :) :)

    Reply
  3. minkadventure17

    I read the Kane Chronicles. It’s one of the best books I’ve ever read. I dream about what would happen if I were in that story and how it would change.
    I <3 Rick Riordan!

    Reply
  4. AmberBrown358

    I really like this book beause it was alot of action in this book, And Rick Riordan is A really great author. Great Book.

    Reply
  5. negotiator

    how can you read one white dolphin? not laughing at it i just cant read it how do you read books do you know the author gill lewis?

    Reply
  6. Michelle

    I love that series along with Percy Jackson books. Rick Riordan had really done it when he mixed those two series together!

    Reply