June 5, 2013

The Kane Chronicles Readalikes

Posted by at 12:56 am in Reads | Permalink

KaneChronicles130The Kane Chronicles Readalikes

You know when you find an amazing book that you never want to end? How do you find another book to read after that? Our answer: Readalikes to the rescue! We hope our Readalikes will rescue you from the what-to-read-next question, and help you find lots of new amazing books.

Today’s Readalikes are for The Kane Chronicles series by Rick Riordan. These books follow Sadie and Carter Kane as they discover that Set, the Egyptian god of chaos and destruction, is alive and kicking in the modern world, and he’s out to destroy them! 

There are 3 books in The Kane Chronicles series, plus the Survival Guide, but once you’ve finished all those, what to read next? Look for these other fantasy books about ancient magic and mythology for ages 9-12.

  • Beyonders Book #1: A World Without Heroes by Brandon Mull
    Jason Walker is on an ordinary trip to the zoo when he is suddenly transported into a dangerous magical realm. See also the other books in the Beyonders series.
  • Theodosia and the Serpents of Chaos by R. L. LaFevers
    Theodosia Throckmorton has her hands full at the Museum of Legends and Antiquities in London. Her father may be head curator, but it is Theo—and only Theo—who is able to see all the black magic and ancient curses that still cling to the artifacts in the museum. Sneaking behind her father’s back, Theo uses old, nearly forgotten Egyptian magic to remove the curses and protect her father and the rest of the museum employees from the ancient, sinister forces that lurk in the museum’s dark hallways. See also the other books in the Theodosia series.
  • The Egypt Game by Zilpha Keatley Snyder
    Melanie Ross and April Hall love Egypt so much that they form a secret society to hold secret Egyptian ceremonies . . .but the game goes too far when strange things begin to happen.
  • The Jaguar Stones Book #1: Middleworld by John and Pamela Voelkel
    In the first book of the Jaguar Stones series, Max Murphy’s parents are taken prisoner in the Mayan underworld and he must fight the Lord of Death to rescue them. See also the other books in The Jaguar Stones series.
  • Ancient Egypt: Tales of Gods and Pharaohs by Marcia Williams
    Comic-strip style illustrations tell the stories of Cleopatra, King Tut, Osirus, Hatshepsut, and other gods and rulers of Ancient Egypt.
  • Oracles of Delphi Keep by Victoria Laurie
    Ian and Theo Wigby discover a silver box containing an ancient Greek prophecy with their names in it. See also the other books in the Oracles of Delphi keep series.
  • Seven Wonders Book #1: The Colossus Rises by Peter Lerangis
    Jack McKinley will die unless he finds relics of a lost civilization hidden in the Seven Wonders of the Ancient World. See also the other books in the Seven Wonders series.
  • Infinity Ring Book#1: A Mutiny in Time by James Dashner
    Dak Smyth and Sera Froste find a time-travel device and must travel through time to fix mistakes that could undo history as we know it. Their first stop is the voyage of Christopher Columbus. See also the other books in the Infinity Ring series.
  • The Blackwell Pages Book #1: Loki’s Wolves by K.L. Armstrong and M.A. Marr
    Most of the residents of Blackwell, South Dakota are descendants of Norse gods Thor or Loki… and they must take the gods’ places in Ragnarok, the epic battle at the end of the world.
  • The Oracle Prophesies Book #1: The Oracle Betrayed by Catherine Fisher
    Mirany, an oracle’s apprentice, and Seth, a tomb-robbing scribe, join forces to root out a traitorous plot to rule their world. See also the other books in The Oracle Prophecies
  • Percy Jackson and the Olympians Book #1: The Lightning Thief by Rick Riordan
    Percy discovers that he is a half-blood; his mother is human, but the father he has never known is Poseidon, God of the Seas! As a demi-god, Percy is in a lot of danger, because his father has some powerful enemies who want Percy killed. See also the other books in the Percy Jackson series, and the Heroes of Olympus series.

Hope you enjoy our Readalikes! PS. Read an excerpt of Rick Riordan’s new story “The Son of Sobek” featuring Percy Jackson and Carter Kane.

—Melissa, Scholastic Booktalker

Add a Comment

For your safety, comments will not appear until the moderator has approved them.
Comments may be edited for appropriateness and personal information.

  1. inkperiwinkle4

    I love Rick Riordan !!! he is like the best author of all time ( exept maybe JK Rowling).
    i have read all his books and waiting for the next book ( The House of Hades) to come out!

    Reply
  2. Sofia

    Wow this book is WONDERFUL! The series keeps you interested and if you like this book be sure to read the PERCY JACKSON series! Rick Riordan is a wonderful author although I don’t recommend Rick Riordan books if you are under fourth grade.

    Reply
  3. bluemath

    I am in LOVE with that awesome book. I am glad that many people had enjoyed it too. i love Rick Riordan’s books!!!!!!!!!

    Reply
  4. Feferi

    The first time I read the Kane Chronicles I disliked it.The second time was amazing!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Reply
  5. Duskcloud11

    I have that book on my book shelf and i want to read it soon, but i am reading the hobbit right new. After the hobbit i WILL be reading that book…
    Duskcloud11

    Reply
  6. Fabiana

    Love Rick Riordan books they are page turners
    Percy Jackson, heroes of Olympus, and Kane Chronicles, that is why i love reading.

    Reply
  7. Ms. G's class

    In our class, we are looking at how our point of view may differ from that of the author of a blog. We have students who agree with the author becasue they LOVE all Rick Riordan books and think they are action packed and filled with adventure. However, we also have a student who has read this series and disagrees with the author, Melissa. He thinks that this book is boring and is not interested in Egyptian Gods. He does, however, LOVE the Percy Jackson series. GO RICK RIORDAN!

    Reply
  8. furlaptop7

    I love the Kane books. I am on the 2nd one. I would recommend it to everyone who like drama and excitement and adventures.

    Reply
  9. chihuahuaamazing35

    this is my first comment ever. i hope this works right. Anyway i have read almost all his books the only one i haven’t is the Mark of Athena. I agree with piglet bird on this one. Rick Riordan is one of the best author’s ever!

    Reply
  10. mysterycomposing24

    THESE BOOKS ROCK!!!!! Must read! Even my mom wants to read them this summer!(No. Because my mom wants to read them does NOT make them lame).

    Reply
  11. Purpleband106

    I may have doubted it at first but trust me this book is fantastic. With the perfect amount of adventure and lots of magic, Rick Riordan astounds us all one more time.

    Reply
  12. pigletbird

    I only read one of the other Rick Riordan books. But to people who have’nt at all it’s filled with adventureous things. I’ll be sure to read it!(:

    Reply