June 12, 2013

Inheritance Readalikes

Posted by at 4:24 am in Reads | Permalink

Eragon130Inheritance Readalikes

You know when you find an amazing book, and you never want it to end? How do you find another book to read after that? Our answer: Readalikes to the rescue! We hope our Readalikes will rescue you from the what-to-read-next question, and help you find lots of new amazing books.

Today’s Readalikes are for the Inheritance Cycle series by Chistopher Paolini. Eragon is 15 years old when he discovers that he is not just a farm boy. He is a Dragon Rider who is about to be swept into a dangerous adventure that could save or destroy the Empire!


There are 3 books in the Inheritance Cycle series, but once you’ve finished all those, what to read next? Look for these other epic fantasy books for ages 10-14. See below for a whole bunch of other Inheritance Readalike books you might also love.

The Hobbit by J.R.R. Tolkien
After Gandalf selects Bilbo the hobbit to accompany him on a dangerous journey to a dragon’s lair with a group of dwarves, Bilbo’s quiet life will never be the same!

The Last Dragon Chronicles Book # 1: The Fire Within by Chris D’Lacey
When college student David moves in with Mrs. Pennykettle and her daughter, he has no idea that his life will soon include fantastical creatures! See also the other books in The Last Dragon Chronicles series.

The Sea of Trolls by Nancy Farmer
Jack and Lucy are kidnapped by Viking Berserkers and become caught in a quest to the home of the trolls. See also the other books in The Sea of Trolls Trilogy.

The Darkest Age Book # 1: The Coming of Dragons by A. J. Lake
Sunken ships, magical swords and dragons are all part of Edmund and Elspeth’s dangerous voyage. ee also the other books in The Darkest Age series.

The Last Apprentice Book # 1: Revenge of the Witch by Joseph Delaney
Tom helps Old Gregory get rid of witches and ghosts in the village. Can Tom prove himself as an apprentice to the County Spook before it’s too late? See also the other books in The Last Apprentice series.

Ranger’s Apprentice Book #1: The Ruins of Gorlan by John Flanagan
Will has become an apprentice to Ranger Halt and must learn enough before their kingdom is attacked. See also the other books in the Ranger’s Apprentice series.

Fablehaven by Brandon Mull
Seth and Kendra realize that their grandparents’ estate, called Fablehaven, is a sanctuary for magical creatures, and not all of them are good. When the ancient laws get broken, powerful forces are unleashed, and Kendra and her brother face the greatest challenge of their lives. See also the other books in the Fablehaven series.

The Golden Door by Emily Rodda
The walled city of Weld is under attack from ferocious flying creatures that raid in the night, bringing death and destruction. The Warden calls for Volunteers to find and destroy the Enemy sending invaders, and the heroes of Weld answer the call one by one, never to return. Rye is officially too young to go, but his brothers are among the lost and he must find them. What terrors await him beyond the Wall? See also the other books in The Golden Door series.

Ascendance Trilogy Book #1: The False Prince by Jennifer A. Nielsen
In a discontent kingdom, civil war is brewing. To unify the divided people, Conner, a nobleman of the court, devises a cunning plan to find an impersonator of the king’s long-lost son and install him as a puppet prince. Four orphans are recruited to compete for the role, including a defiant boy named Sage. As Sage moves from a rundown orphanage to Conner’s sumptuous palace, layer upon layer of treachery and deceit unfold, until finally, a truth is revealed that may prove more dangerous than all of the lies taken together. See also the other books in the Ascendance series.

Dragon Run by Patrick Matthews
Testing Day is supposed to be a day of celebration for Al Pilgrommor. But, to his surprise and horror, Al is revealed to be rank zero, the lowest of the low. Cast out of his home, cut off from his friends, and armed with only a sword and his wits, Al is reduced to just surviving. As he meets other outcasts, however, he begins to suspect that he is a pawn in a larger game–and that he might have the power to tip the scales in a high-stakes struggle between man and dragon.

Hope you enjoy our Readalikes!

—Jen, Scholastic Booktalker

Add a Comment

For your safety, comments will not appear until the moderator has approved them.
Comments may be edited for appropriateness and personal information.

  1. Stephen

    This is the third readalike link I’ve tried and I can’t get it to work either. Can you fix that one?

    Reply
  2. CandyCaramel97

    They’re good great in fact, but just not my type you know. They don’t compell me to read them like Percy or Harry have.

    Reply
    1. tornadofish3

      yea, and fire is soooooooooooooo scary, NOT I read eragon in 4th grade!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  3. Michelle

    I love these books! They are some of my favorites. There are actually 4 books now, Eragon, Eldest, Brissenger, and Inheritance. If you like these books, try reading Leven Thumps, Dragon slippers (by Jessica Day George) or Fablehaven by Brandon Mull.

    Reply