April 3, 2013

Percy Jackson Readalikes

Posted by at 2:21 am in Percy Jackson, Reads | Permalink

Percyjato_130Percy Jackson and the Olympians Readalikes

You know when you find an amazing book, and you never want it to end? How do you find another book to read after that? Our answer: Readalikes to the rescue! We hope our Readalikes will rescue you from the what-to-read-next question, and help you find lots of new amazing books.

Today’s Readalikes are for the Percy Jackson series by Rick Riordan. These books follow Percy as he discovers to his amazement that his father is Poseidon, the Greek God of the Sea, and Percy is one of many “half-bloods” in the world who must battle ancient and powerful enemies.


There are 5 books in the PJO series, plus 3 books so far in the Heroes of Olympus series (Book #4: The House of Hades is coming out in October 2013), and the Sea of Monsters movie (rated PG) is coming out in August. But once you’ve finished all those, what to read next? Look for these other fantasy books about ancient mythology for ages 9-12. Look for these other Percy Jackson Readalike books you might also love.

Kane Chronicles: The Red Pyramid by Rick Riordan
Carter and Sadie’s father has unleashed the Egyptian god Set and they’ve found themselves on a dangerous journey with family secrets popping up every step of the way.

Artemis Fowl by Eoin Colfer
It’s fairies vs. a 12-year-old evil genius mastermind who is trying to steal their gold. But he has no idea what he is up against!

The Book of Time by Guillaume Prevost
In order to find his missing father, Sam must travel through time to ancient Egypt, medieval Ireland, and even Dracula’s Castle. See also the other books in The Book of Time series.

The Bridge to Never Land by Dave Barry and Ridley Pierson
Aiden and Sarah uncover a mysterious document about the origins of Peter Pan that gets the pair chased by someone – or something- that will stop at nothing to get it from them.

Have a Hot Time, Hades! by Kate McMullan
Learn how Hades and his brothers and sisters defeated bad dad Cronus after he swallowed them whole. See also the other books in the Myth-o-Mania series.

The Books of Beginning: The Emerald Atlas by John Stephens
Kate, Michael, and Emma have been tossed from one orphanage to another for the last ten years. Yet these unwanted children are more remarkable than they could possibly imagine. Ripped from their parents as babies, they are being protected from a horrible evil they know nothing about. . . Until now. See also the other books in The Books of Beginning series.

Fablehaven by Brandon Mull
Seth and Kendra realize that their grandparents’ estate, called Fablehaven, is a sanctuary for magical creatures, and not all of them are good. When the ancient laws get broken, powerful forces are unleashed, and Kendra and her brother face the greatest challenge of their lives. See also the other books in the Fablehaven series.

His Dark Materials: The Golden Compass by Philip Pullman
11-year-old Lyra is a precocious orphan growing up within Jordan College in Oxford, England, but Lyra’s world is not precisely like our own. In Lyra’s world, everyone has a personal dæmon, a lifelong animal familiar that represents her soul. Lyra and her daemon are about to embark on the adventure of a lifetime. See also the other books His Dark Materials Trilogy.

D’Aulaire’s Book of Greek Myths by Ingri and Edgar Parin D’Aulaire
Read the original stories of gods, monsters, and human heroes that inspired the characters in The Lightning Thief.

Mythlopedia: Oh My Gods! by Megan E. Bryant
A Look-It-Up Guide to the Gods of Mythology! In this funny and fast-paced book, learn the honest, no-holds-barred truths about the men of Mount Olympus. See also the other books in the Mythlopedia series for stories about Olympian goddesses and monsters.

The Sea of Trolls by Nancy Farmer
Jack and Lucy are kidnapped by Viking Berserkers and become caught in a quest to the home of the trolls. See also the other books in The Sea of Trolls Trilogy.

Children of the Lamp: The Akhenaten Adventure by Philip Kerr
John and Philippa Gaunt discover that they are descended from djinn, giving them the power to grant wishes and travel instantaneously anywhere in the world. See also the other books in the Children of the Lamp series.

Skulduggery Pleasant by Derek Landy
Skulduggery Pleasant is a powerful mage who has escaped the grave to become a living skeleton… so why must he team up with an ordinary 12-year-old girl named Stephanie to save the world from evil? Find out in this screwball book. See also the other books in the Skullduggery Pleasant series.

Odysseus in the Serpent Maze by Jane Yolen and Robert J. Harris
What would Odysseus, Penelope, and Helen of Troy have been like as young teenagers? Find out in this book. See also the other books in the Young Heroes series.

Goddess of Yesterday by Caroline B. Cooney
Anaxandra takes on the identity of Princess Callisto to survive a pirate attack and finds herself in the middle of the Trojan War.

The Cronus Chronicles: The Shadow Thieves by Anne Ursu
Modern-day teens Charlotte and Zee set out for the Underworld on a quest to cure their mysteriously ill friends. See also the other books in the Cronus Chronicles.

Gods of Manhattan by Scott Mebus
13-year-old New Yorker Rory Hennessy can see things no one else can. When a magician’s trick opens his eyes to Mannahatta, Rory finds an amazing spirit city coexisting alongside modern-day Manhattan, a place where ancient warriors and children live, ruled by the immortal Gods of Manhattan. See also the other books in the Gods of Manhattan series.

The Oracle Prophesies: The Oracle Betrayed by Catherine Fisher
Mirany, an oracle’s apprentice, and Seth, a tomb-robbing scribe, join forces to root out a traitorous plot to rule their world. See also the other books in The Oracle Prophecies.

Theodosia and the Serpents of Chaos by R. L. LaFevers
Theodosia Throckmorton has her hands full at the Museum of Legends and Antiquities in London. Her father may be head curator, but it is Theo—and only Theo—who is able to see all the black magic and ancient curses that still cling to the artifacts in the museum. Sneaking behind her father’s back, Theo uses old, nearly forgotten Egyptian magic to remove the curses and protect her father and the rest of the museum employees from the ancient, sinister forces that lurk in the museum’s dark hallways. See also the other books in the Theodosia series.

Hope you enjoy our Readalikes! PS. If you still can’t get enough PJO, test your skills in this Percy Jackson Trivia Quiz, and read an excerpt of Rick Riordan’s new story “The Son of Sobek.

—Melissa, Scholastic Booktalker

Add a Comment

For your safety, comments will not appear until the moderator has approved them.
Comments may be edited for appropriateness and personal information.

  1. N

    I adore Percy Jackson stories (I am 25 but still with the heart of a 13 years old girl).
    I own many of the Read a Like.
    Rick Riordan’s new story “The Son of Sobek.”? I shall order it right now…

    Reply
  2. chihuhauhablack384

    i love this book but its kinda sad about the mom ……. but other wise its a really great book ever about the part when the lady turns into some monster…….. and the giant dog …. and how Percy gets to meet his dad !!!!!! just loved the whole book!!!

    Reply
  3. clash of clans

    i hope annebeth and percy survive house of hades.I am going crazy i need to read it!I fineshed mark of athena.Also play clash of clans on the ipad.Its awesome!Ive read all the pecy books.

    Reply
  4. Karen

    I love the Percy Jackson series so much! Now I’m reading Heroes of Olympus because I’m finished with it. I can’t wait for the House of Hades to come out! I seriously don’t know what to do when I’m done with this series.

    Reply
  5. Madeline

    Can’t wait for the next book in The Heroes of Olympus series to come out! The ending was such a cliff hanger- but sooo romantic!

    Reply
  6. ghostblue21

    OMG I am so sick of waiting for the next book to come out for Heroes of Olympus series!!! When I first got Mark of Athena I read it in like three days and now I’m stuck waiting for House of Hades!!
    PS my teacher drove me insane last week; we read Arachne and Athena was spelled Athene, and she pronounced it a-THEEN! Even though the correct pronunciation was at the bottom of the page! I was sitting there trying not to go bananas listening to her say a-THEEN!!!!!! Does anyone else feel my pain?

    Reply
  7. arrowwolf27

    i LLLLOOOOOOVVVVEEEEE the PJaO series i have all the books and the knewest series HoO wich also has percy in the books you find even more amazing adventures and some horrifying news see the new books!

    Reply