April 24, 2013

Inkheart Readalikes

Posted by at 1:04 am in Inkheart, Reads | Permalink

Inkheart_130Inkheart Readalikes

You know when you find an amazing book, and you never want it to end? How do you find another book to read after that? Our answer: Readalikes to the rescue! We hope our Readalikes will rescue you from the what-to-read-next question, and help you find lots of new amazing books.

Today’s Readalikes are for the Inkheart series by Cornelia Funke. These books follow Meggie on an amazing adventure as she discovers that her father has the ability to bring story characters (good and evil) into our world just by reading them out loud!


There are 3 books in the Ink World series, plus the Inkheart movie, but once you’ve finished all those, what to read next? Look for these other fantasy books about parallel, magical worlds for ages 9-12. Below are a whole bunch of other Inkheart Readalike books you might also love.

Percy Jackson and the Olympians Book #1: The Lightning Thief by Rick Riordan
Percy discovers that he is a half-blood; his mother is human, but the father he has never known is Poseidon, God of the Seas! As a demi-god, Percy is in a lot of danger, because his father has some powerful enemies who want Percy killed. See also the other books in the Percy Jackson series, and the Heroes of Olympus series.

The Keepers Book # 1: Museum of Thieves by Lian Tanner
Like every child in the city, Goldie wears a silver guardchain and is forced to obey the dreaded Blessed Guardians. She has never done anything without being chained to an adult and won’t be allowed out on the streets unchained until Separation Day. After a bomb explodes on Separation Day, Goldie takes the opportunity to run away, and discovers secrets that threaten the lives of the people in Jewel. See also the other books in The Keepers Trilogy.

The Library Card by Jerry Spinelli
When a magical library card appears to four different kids, their lives are changed forever.

Magic by the Book by Nina Bernstein
Have you ever wished that you could jump into a book and become part of it? This book is only for those brave enough to do so.

The Great Good Thing by Roderick Townley
Sylvie is a 12-year-old princess character trapped in a book. Find out what happens when she escapes the book and meets the person reading it!

The Book of Story Beginnings by Kristin Kladstrup
Oscar Martin was fourteen when he mysteriously disappeared from his Iowa farmhouse home in June 1914. His sister claimed Oscar had rowed out to sea – but how was that possible? There is no ocean in Iowa. When, nearly a century later, Lucy Martin and her parents move from their city apartment to that same farmhouse in Iowa, it is not long before Lucy discovers the strange and dangerous Book of Story Beginnings. And it’s not long before Oscar reappears in a bizarre turn of events that sends the two distant relatives on a perilous journey to save Lucy’s father.

Coraline by Neil Gaiman
Coraline goes through a mysterious door in her new apartment that leads to another world with parents just like her own parents but. . . creepier. And she’s not quite sure she’ll be able to get back.

Storybound by Marissa Burt
After Una discovers a mysterious book in her school library, she’s shocked to discover that she has been written into it! See also the sequel Story’s End.

Peter and the Starcatchers by Dave Barry and Ridley Pearson
Peter and his fellow orphans set sail aboard the Never Land, a ship secretly carrying a precious and mysterious cargo, and the journey quickly becomes fraught with excitement and danger. Treacherous battles with pirates, foreboding thunderstorms at sea, mysterious sea creatures, and angry natives race the story along to finally reveal how Peter becomes the infamous Peter Pan. See also the other books in the Starcatchers series.

The Girl Who Circumnavigated Fairyland in a Ship of Her Own Making by Catherynne M. Valente
September’s life is about to change once a Green Wind pays her a visit and whisks her off to Fairyland. See also the sequel The Girl Who Fell Beneath Fairyland and Led the Revels There.

Dragon Rider by Cornelia Funke
With a lonely boy named Ben on board, the brave, young dragon Firedrake sets out on a journey to find the mythical place where silver dragons can live in peace forever. They encounter fantastic creatures, and cross the path of a ruthless villain with an ancient grudge who’s determined to end their quest. Will Ben and Firedrake be able to find the Rim of Heaven so all dragons can finally live in peace?

The Books of Beginning Book #1: The Emerald Atlas by John Stephens
Kate, Michael, and Emma have been tossed from one orphanage to another for the last ten years. Yet these unwanted children are more remarkable than they could possibly imagine. Ripped from their parents as babies, they are being protected from a horrible evil they know nothing about. . .Until now. See also the other books in The Books of Beginning series.

His Dark Materials Book #1: The Golden Compass by Philip Pullman
11-year-old Lyra is a precocious orphan growing up within Jordan College in Oxford, England, but Lyra’s world is not precisely like our own. In Lyra’s world, everyone has a personal dæmon, a lifelong animal familiar that represents her soul. Lyra and her daemon are about to embark on the adventure of a lifetime. See also the other books His Dark Materials Trilogy.

Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone by J.K. Rowling
Harry Potter has no idea how famous he is. That’s because he’s being raised by his mean aunt and uncle who are terrified Harry will learn that he’s really a wizard, just as his parents were. But everything changes when Harry is summoned to attend the Hogwarts School of Witchcraft and Wizardry, and he begins to discover some clues about his illustrious birthright. See also the other books in the Harry Potter series.

Hope you enjoy our Readalikes!

—Jen, Scholastic Booktalker

Add a Comment

For your safety, comments will not appear until the moderator has approved them.
Comments may be edited for appropriateness and personal information.

  1. Stephen

    I tried clicking on the cover to see what the Readalikes are but I keep getting redirected to the home page for the blogs. Can someone fix it so that it goes to the readalikes? I really want to know what they are. Thank you.

    Reply
  2. Stephen

    I’m trying to access the link that shows the readalikes but I can’t get it to work. Can you fix that?

    Reply
  3. Dancingfire8

    I love the Inkheart series! I wish there were more Inkheart books, but I guess I’ll just have to go with the readalikes for now!:)

    Reply
  4. goatinky6

    i read ink heart and it is the best book ever at first i thougt it was stouped but it turned out to be awesome!!!!!!!!

    Reply