January 28, 2013

The 2013 Newbery Winner is. . .

Posted by at 12:00 pm in Reads | Permalink

Newbery2013 Newbery Medal Winner

The Newbery Medal is awarded every year by a committee of librarians to recognize "the most distinguished contribution to American literature for children." Past winners have included The Graveyard Book by Neil Gaiman, Bud, Not Buddy by Christopher Paul Curtis, The Giver by Lois Lowry, and Holes by Louis Sachar. Last year's winner was Dead End in Norvelt by Jack Gantos.

This year's winner was just announced today, and the 2013 Newbery Medal goes to . . . The One and Only Ivan by Katherine Applegate.

Have you read it yet? Do YOU think it was the best American book published in 2012? If you were on the committee voting for the 2013 Newbery Medal, which book would YOU have chosen? (Remember, only books published in 2012 by writers in America are eligible.) Let us know in the Comments.

image from kids.scholastic.comSonja, STACKS Staffer

UPDATE: Congratulations also to the Newbery Honor Books for 2013: Bomb: The Race to Build and Steal the World's Most Dangerous Weapon by Steve Sheinkin, Three Times Lucky by Sheila Turnage, and Splendors and Glooms by Laura Amy Shlitz. All amazing books too!

  1. Sophie

    I have never heard of this book, or this author. I am going to read it and decide for myself if this book deserves that reward.

  2. magiccastle12

    I think that the book The Extraordinary Education of Nicholas Benedict should have won, but that is just me

Comments are closed.