December 19, 2012

The Mysterious Benedict Society Readalikes

Posted by at 3:52 am in Reads | Permalink

Mysteriousbs-bus_130You know when you find an amazing book, and you never want it to end? How do you find another book to read after that? Our answer: Readalikes to the rescue! We hope our Readalikes will rescue you from the what-to-read-next question, and help you find lots of new amazing books.

Today’s Readalikes are for The Mysterious Benedict Society by Trenton Lee Stewart. When 11-year-old Reynie answers this ad in the newspaper (“Are you a gifted child looking for special opportunities?”), he has no idea of the adventures he is about to get into. He and 3 other kids pass a series of strange tests that admit them into the Mysterious Benedict Society. That’s when their lives start getting strange!

There are 4 books in The Mysterious Benedict Society series. If you have read them all and want more “special opportunities,” then read these other books for ages 8-11 about clever children involved in strange and secret adventures.

Charlie and the Chocolate Factory by Roald Dahl
When Charlie finds a golden ticket in his chocolate bar, he’s excited to be one of five children invited to visit Willy Wonka’s Chocolate Factory. But as Charlie quickly discovers, the tour and the factory aren’t quite what they seem. See also the other books by Roald Dahl.

A Series of Unfortunate Events Book #1: The Bad Beginning by Lemony Snicket
A greedy relative will stop at nothing to ensure he gets the inheritance left to Violet, Klaus and Sunny. However, he doesn’t realize that their cleverness outmatches his! See also the other books in A Series of Unfortunate Events.

The Westing Game by Ellen Raskin
16 different people are invited to a mansion to solve the death of the eccentric millionaire Sam Westing. Whoever can solve the mystery will inherit Westing’s 200-million dollar prize!

The 39 Clues Book #1: The Maze of Bones by Rick Riordan
After their grandmother passes away, siblings Amy and Dan Cahill must race the rest of their greedy (and deadly) family to be the first to uncover 39 clues and the mystery involving their family. See also the other books in the 39 Clues series.

The Mysterious Case of the Allbright Academy by Diane Stanley
Every student who attends the Allbright Academy is perfect, but they didn’t start off that way. Are Franny and her friends clever enough to figure out why?

Chasing Vermeer by Blue Balliett
When a famous painting goes missing, 11-year-old Petra and Calder must combine their talents to solve this international mystery. You solve the mystery along with the characters using the artwork throughout the story. See also The Wright 3 and The Calder Game.

School of Fear by Gitty Daneshvari
What are you most afraid of? Enroll in the School of Fear, and conquer your fear. . . by facing it head-on in  the exclusive and terrifying summer school known as School of Fear. See also the aother books in the School of Fear series.

The Puzzling World of Winston Breen by Eric Berlin
Winston sets out to solve a puzzle that will lead to hidden treasure. Help Winston before somebody else finds it!

The Secret Series Book #1: The Name of this Book is Secret by Pseudonymous Bosch
Pseudonymous Bosch has a secret he can’t share. Or maybe he can, if you’re brave enough. A magician is dead, and it’s up to two 11-year-old misfits to figure out why and stop those responsible from wreaking more havoc. See also the other books in the Secret series.

Floors by Patrick Carman
Leo’s father is the custodian of the mysterious and very wacky Whippet Hotel, a strange place full of hidden floors, bizarre puzzles, mazes, and secret rooms. When the hotel owner disappears, it’s up to Leo to solve the mystery. Armed with strange, colored boxes and a duck, he must uncover the secrets between the floors before the unthinkable happens. See also the sequel 3 Below.

Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone by J.K. Rowling
Harry Potter has no idea how famous he is. That’s because he’s being raised by his mean aunt and uncle who are terrified Harry will learn that he’s really a wizard, just as his parents were. But everything changes when Harry is summoned to attend the Hogwarts School of Witchcraft and Wizardry, and he begins to discover some clues about his illustrious birthright. See also the other books in the Harry Potter series.

Hope you enjoy our Readalikes!

—Jen, Scholastic Booktalker

Add a Comment

For your safety, comments will not appear until the moderator has approved them.
Comments may be edited for appropriateness and personal information.

  1. purple pandas

    I think this book is SO awesome! It is for everybody who isn’t neceserily smart but just thinks! I totally recommend it!

    Reply
  2. Juniper

    I really enjoyed the first installment in the Mysterious Benidict Society series. I am currently reading the second book; A Perilous Journey. For those of you who are looking forward to reading these or have tried but cannot get into it, my best advice is to give it a try even if you think you are not going to like it. In my opinion the deeper into the story you get, the faster the story moves along. There are many twists and turns in store for you, that is if you do read it. I hope you enjoy reading it as much as I did. Best wishes.

    Reply
  3. dancingjalepeno

    I love this book! I would definately recommend it! I also love…
    -All the Wrong Questions: Who Could That Be At This Hour (Lemony Snicket)
    -The Apothecary (Maile Maloy)
    -Sisters Grimm (Michael Buckley)
    -Maximum Ride: The Angel Experiment (James Patterson)
    **Note: The Maximum Ride series is more for kids 12 and up!**
    -Tunnels (Rodrick Gordon & Brian Williams)
    -Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone (JK Rowling)
    -The Name of This Book is Secret (Pseudonymous Bosch)
    -Ruby Red (Kerstin Gier)
    **Again, probably for 12 and up**
    Most of these are just really awesome books, not necessarily having anything to do with MBS… :)

    Reply
  4. elfheroine1

    Oh if you like The Series Of Unfortunate Events (like me :O) and The Mysterious Benedict Society, than ya’ll should read Snicket’s newest, All The Wrong Questions: Who Could That Be At This Hour?
    It’s so awesome!

    Reply
  5. Maria

    The Mysterious Benedict Society is one of the best series ever!! I’m totally checking out some of the readalikes!!!
    Thanks for posting them!!!!

    Reply
  6. Lollipop

    Oh my gosh! Who ever has not read these books should! They’re so amazing! The mystery is sooo different than other books. Another good series is the “Series of Unfortunate Events.” There is 13 books in that series and there is still extra. I think you should read both of these books, if you love to read, and you love suspense.

    Reply
  7. Jhorror526

    does ANYBODY ever see their own comments? is this site just old news that’s been dumped? WHAT’S GOING ON HERE???!!!

    Reply
  8. FAT ALBERT!

    HEY HEY HEY I’M FAT ALBERT! I’m gonna sing a song or two… Bill’s gonna show you a thing or two.. We’ll have fun, me and all the gang! Workin’ together that’s how we do our thang!

    Reply