October 31, 2012

Goosebumps Readalikes

Posted by at 1:39 am in Goosebumps, Reads | Permalink

Goosebumps_tvGoosebumps Readalikes

You know when you find an amazing book, and you never want it to end? How do you find another book to read after that? Our answer: Readalikes to the rescue! We hope our Readalikes will rescue you from the what-to-read-next question, and help you find lots of new amazing books.

Today’s Readalikes are for the Goosebumps series. Author R.L. Stine has said that Pinocchio, the story of a wooden puppet coming to life, inspired his Slappy character, and made him want to write about an evil ventriloquist dummy coming to life.

There are, like, a million books by R.L. Stine: the Goosebumps series, the HorrorLand series, the Hall of Horrors series, plus the TV shows. Once you are done with all those, try these other spooky, creepy, scary books for ages 8-11.

The Curse of the Campfire Weenies: And Other Warped and Creepy Tales by David Lubar
This collection of warped and hair-raising tales might make you jump out of your seat, but at least it will make you giggle too.

Deadtime Stories: Grave Secrets by Anette and Gina Cascone
When Amanda and her friends go to their pet cemetery to bury a dead squirrel, they discover the grave is already occupied…and not by a pet. See also the other books in the Deadtime Stories series.

The Graveyard Book by Neil Gaiman
After his parents are killed, infant Nobody Owens grows up in the care of graveyard ghosts.

My Sister the Vampire Book #1: Switched by Sienna Mercer
When Olivia moves to a new town, she is shocked to discover that not only does she have a twin sister, but that her twin sister is a vampire. See also the other books in the My Sister the Vampire series.

Scary Stories to Tell in the Dark by Alvin Schwartz
This classic collection includes some of the most horrifying, dark, and creepy stories that have been told for generations.

Short and Shivery: Thirty Chilling Tales by Robert D. San Souci
These short and spooky stories have been gathered from all over the world just to make your spine tingle!

Coraline by Neil Gaiman
Coraline goes through a mysterious door in her new apartment that leads to another world with parents just like her own parents but. . . creepier. And she’s not quite sure she’ll be able to get back.

Encyclopedia Horrifica: The Terrifying Truth about Vampires, Ghosts, Monsters, and More by Joshua Gee
This book includes both photographic evidence and eyewitness testimony of supernatural events. Sometimes truth is scarier than fiction.

Something Upstairs by Avi
After moving into a new house, Kenny meets the ghost of a slave boy who died in his attic almost 200 years ago.

You’re Invited to a Creepover: Truth or Dare by P.J. Night
Each book in this spooky series combines sleepovers and scary stories. We dare you to get creeped out! See also the other books in the You’re Invited to a Creepover series.

The Tanglewood Terror by Kurtis Scaletta
Eric’s hometown is being overtaken by glowing blue-green mushrooms. With Halloween approaching, Eric and his friends might not have enough time to solve the fungal mystery and save their town.

The Joy of Spooking: Fiendish Deeds by P.J. Bracegirdle
Joy lives in Spooking near a mysterious bog with a real monster in it. When the mayor of the nearby suburb called Darlington proposes building a water park over her beloved bog, Joy is determined to stop the construction and protect the monster’s habitat. See also the other books in The Joy of Spooking series.

Wait Till Helen Comes: A Ghost Story by Mary Downing Hahn
Molly and her brother are moving to a refurbished old church with their mother’s new husband and their younger stepsister, Heather. Heather is a brat, but no one wants her to get hurt by the evil ghost of a 7-year-old girl who died in a mysterious fire more than a hundred years ago. See also other books by Mary Downing Hahn.

Hope you enjoy our Readalikes!

—Emily, Scholastic Booktalker

Add a Comment

For your safety, comments will not appear until the moderator has approved them.
Comments may be edited for appropriateness and personal information.