September 12, 2012

The Hunger Games Readalikes

Posted by at 1:17 am in Reads | Permalink

Hg_130The Hunger Games Readalikes

You know when you find an amazing book, and you never want it to end? How do you find another book to read after that? Our answer: Readalikes to the rescue! We hope our Readalikes will rescue you from the what-to-read-next question, and help you find lots of new amazing books.

You have probably heard of The Hunger Games (for ages 12 and up) by Suzanne Collins, where 16-year-old Katniss Everdeen, steps in to take the place of her sister in the Hunger Games, knowing it may be her death sentence.

You might be too young to read The Hunger Games series, or see The Hunger Games movie (rated PG-13), but still want to read some thrilling dystopian books about futuristic worlds gone wrong. These Hunger Games Readalikes are perfect for ages 10-14.

Alex Rider Book #1: Stormbreaker by Anthony Horowitz
After Alex’s uncle dies under mysterious circumstances, he has no choice but to go undercover and find out the truth! See also the other books in the Alex Rider series.

Artemis Fowl by Eoin Colfer
It’s fairies vs. a 12-year-old evil genius who concocts a plan to swindle them out of their gold. This book combines magic, kidnapping, and a high-tech fairy spy team. See also the other books in the Artemis Fowl series.

The Roar by Emma Clayton
Mika knows he can win the Pod Finder competition, but doing so will unravel many secrets and lies about the world in which he lives.

The City of Ember by Jeanne DuPrau
The City of Ember was supposed to be the last refuge for humans, but now it seems to be falling apart. 12-year-old Linda finds part of an ancient message that might just tell her exactly how to save her city. See also the other books in the Ember series.

The House of the Scorpion by Nancy Farmer
Matt is a clone created by the evil, 140-year-old drug lord El Patron. But when Matt realizes that his own organs will be harvested to keep El Patron alive, he runs away to avoid a terrible fate.

Atherton Book # 1: The House of Power by Patrick Carman
The world of Atherton is getting more treacherous as the ground itself begins to rumble, shift, and change. When Edgar discovers a book that holds the secrets of their entire world, the fate of Atherton depends on his actions. See also the other books in the Atherton series.

The Giver by Lois Lowry
Jonah’s world is perfect; nobody suffers from sadness or pain. But will this change when he is chosen to be the next Receiver of Memories? See also the other books in the Giver Quartet.

Messenger by Lois Lowry
Strange changes are taking place in Village. Once a utopian community that prided itself on its welcome to new strangers, Village will soon be closed to all outsiders. As one of the few people able to travel through the dangerous Forest, Matty must deliver the message of Village’s closing and try to convince Seer’s daughter to return with him before it’s too late. But Forest has become hostile to Matty as well, and he must risk everything to fight his way through it, armed only with an emerging power he cannot yet explain or understand.

Gathering Blue by Lois Lowry
Kira, newly orphaned and lame from birth, is taken from the turmoil of the village to live in the grand Council Edifice because of her skill at embroidery. There she is given the task of restoring the historical pictures sewn on the robe worn at the annual Ruin Song Gathering, a solemn day-long performance of the story of their world’s past. Down the hall lives Thomas the Carver, a young boy who works on the intricate symbols carved on the Singer’s staff, and a tiny girl who is being trained as the next Singer. Over the three artists hovers the menace of authority, seemingly kind but suffocating to their creativity, and the dark secret at the heart of the Ruin Song.

Son by Lois Lowry
They called her Water Claire. When she washed up on their shore, no one knew that she came from a society where emotions and colors didn’t exist, or that Claire had a son. But what became of him she never knew. What was his name? Was he even alive? She was supposed to forget him, but that was impossible. Now Claire will stop at nothing to find her child, even if it means making an unimaginable sacrifice.

The Limit by Kristen Landon
Kids are being taken away to special workhouses if their families exceed the monthly debt limit imposed by the government. 13-year-old Matt wonders if he might be next, but as long as his parents remain within their limit, the government will be satisfied and leave them alone. But all it takes is one fatal visit to the store to push Matt’s family over their limit, and to change his reality forever.

Saving Sky by Diane Stanley
The country is at war, terrorists strike at random, widespread rationing is in effect, and the power grid is down. But thirteen-year-old Sky Brightman is remarkably untouched by it all. She lives off the grid on sixty acres of rural New Mexico ranch land with chores to do and horses to ride and no television or internet to bring disturbing news into her family’s adobe house. But, can Sky’s family remain untouched when their friend becomes a target, or will their protection of her friend cause them harm?

The Unwanteds by Lisa McMann
Each year, all the 13-year-olds of Quill are labeled as Wanted, Necessary, or Unwanted. Wanteds get more schooling and train to join the Quillitary. Necessaries keep the farms running. Alex’s artistic nature may cause him to become an Unwanted. Is there any hope for him, or will his creativity lead to his death?

Shadow Children Book # 1: Among the Hidden by Margaret Peterson Haddix
Luke has been in hiding his whole life because his existence is illegal in a society where parents are allowed no more than 2 children. He can’t leave the house to go outside and play, or to go to school. He can’t stand near the window in case someone outside might spot him. If his existence is discovered by anyone outside his own family, the Population Police will take him away. Also the other books in the Shadow Children series.

The Keepers Book # 1: Museum of Thieves by Lian Tanner
Like every child in the city, Goldie wears a silver guardchain and is forced to obey the dreaded Blessed Guardians. She has never done anything without being chained to an adult and won’t be allowed out on the streets unchained until Separation Day. After a bomb explodes on Separation Day, Goldie takes the opportunity to run away, and discovers secrets that threaten the lives of the people in Jewel. See also the other books in The Keepers Trilogy.

Hope you enjoy our Readalikes!

—Jen, Scholastic Booktalker

Add a Comment

For your safety, comments will not appear until the moderator has approved them.
Comments may be edited for appropriateness and personal information.

  1. julia

    I really love the hunger games! Like honestly I am not even kidding I have Read ‘The Hunger Games” 11 times “Catching Fire” 11 Times and “Mockingjay” Twelve times! As you can tell I really like the series! But the only confusing thing about us hunger games fans is what to call us. You have your twi-hards and your potterheads. As liam Hensworth suggested, maybe we should be called “Gamers’ haha though no ones sure, Our unoffical name as many have been saying, are tributes

    Reply
  2. Silvermoon24

    Oh, hey Bella ! Didn’t expect ya to be here. I wonder if you recognize me from the HP boards. I still can’t read the HG until I finish Le Hobbit/The Hobbit, but I know that the trilogy is pretty fantastic.

    Reply
  3. Samantha

    The hunger games is an amazing book series! Harry Potter books are really great too. I am also a fan of the Witch and Wizard series by James Patterson.

    Reply
  4. evelyun

    i have heard about the hunger games but i don’t get a chance to by the book and read it i herad it is a really go book but i am almost on the second book the mocking jay

    Reply