September 19, 2012

My Sister the Vampire Readalikes

Posted by at 1:16 am in Reads | Permalink

My Sister the Vampire book coverMy Sister the Vampire Readalikes

You know when you find an amazing book, and you never want it to end? How do you find another book to read after that? Our answer: Readalikes to the rescue! We hope our Readalikes will rescue you from the what-to-read-next question, and help you find lots of new amazing books.

Today’s Readalikes are for the My Sister the Vampire series by Sienna Mercer. When Olivia Abbott moves to town, she’s excited to join the cheerleading team and make new friends. Then she meets Ivy Vega. At first, Ivy, pale and dressed all in black, looks like Olivia’s opposite. Then the girls look beyond the glittery pink blush and thick black eyeliner to discover they’re identical twins! Olivia and Ivy are brimming with plans to switch places and pull every twin trick in the book. But Olivia soon discovers that she and Ivy aren’t exactly the same. . . Ivy is a vampire.

There are a bunch of books in the My Sister the Vampire series. Once you have devoured all those, sink your fangs into these other supernatural books for ages 8-11.

Vampire Island by Adele Griffin
Hybrid vampire-fruit bat kids move from Europe to New York, where they must adjust to life as regular humans.

Poison Apple: This Totally Bites by Ruth Ames
12-year-old Emma-Rose has always felt different from her parents. Unlike them, Emma-Rose has pale skin and jet-black hair, is quiet and moody, and hates sunshine. She also hates the taste of garlic, and loves rare burgers. Could Emma-Rose be a vampire? See also other books in the Poison Apple series.

A Tale Dark and Grimm by Adam Gidwitz
You think you know Hansel and Gretel? Think again! In this book you will experience fairy tales the way the Brothers Grimm intended — in both a comical and gruesome way.

Tales from the Five Kingdoms Book #1: The Robe of Skulls by Vivian French
Sorceress Lady Lamorna’s unnecessary expenses are mounting and she turns to kidnapping and black magic to get funds for her latest obsession, a new robe. See also the other books in the Tales from the Five Kingdoms series.

The Solstice Cup by Rachel Muller
Twin sisters visit Ireland during the winter solstice and learn about the fairy world, but is it a place of enchantment or enslavement for humans?

Suddenly Supernatural Book #1: School Spirit by Elizabeth Cody Kimmel
All Kat wants is to be a normal 7th grader, but she has just learned that she can see dead people, and is the only one who can help free the spirit of a girl trapped at her middle school. See also the other books in the Suddenly Supernatural series.

School of Fear by Gitty Daneshvari
Everybody is afraid of something. To get over your fears, you must be sent to the School of Fear where your worst nightmares come alive in frightening and humorous ways. See also the other books in the School of Fear series.

The Incorrigible Children of Ashton Place Book #1: The Mysterious Howling by Maryrose Wood
Miss Penelope Lumley is no ordinary governess, and her 3 students are not exactly ordinary children. Miss Lumley is eager to instruct the children in Latin verbs and the proper use of globes, but first she must help them overcome their . . . um. . . “canine” tendencies. See also the other books in The Incorrigible Children of Ashton Place series.

Hope you enjoy our Readalikes!

—Amanda, Scholastic Booktalker

Add a Comment

For your safety, comments will not appear until the moderator has approved them.
Comments may be edited for appropriateness and personal information.

  1. diamond

    if anyoneis interrested in scary mystery books you should read the creepover series i am almost done with the series but not yet.the author is Mr.PJ Night a great author.

    Reply
  2. PeacefulPlum3

    To tell the truth, I love vampires. Anything dealing with vampires I like. I need just 2 more books to complete my collection.

    Reply
  3. evelyun

    omg i luv this book it is so omg if u haven’t read this book try to buy it or boro it froma friend so u can check it out oh send me a shout out and to all those people that like this book

    Reply
  4. icemermaid32

    i read 1 of them i just love it soooooooooooooooooooooooooooo much that i locked my self in my bedroom and never came out until 7:00 pm!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Reply
  5. r

    i love these books!!!! and i loveeeeeeeeeeeeeee vampires its like me and my sisters story! except i am not vampire and we r not twins but she is a cheerleeader

    Reply
  6. horsecheery8

    OH MY GOSH!!! I never thought they would post something about my sister the vampire it’s my FAVOURITE series!!!
    Except not alot of people know about it! I HAVE ALL THE BOOKS IN THE SERIES AND I AM GETTING THE NEW ONE!

    Reply
  7. blackwolf423

    I love My Sister the Vampire. Even though I’m obsessed with wolves, I like Ivy’s secret and personality! Olivia is more of my other style. I have read 6 of these books! Can’t wait to read the 7th one! This book is so intersting! My favorite one yet!! I WILL ALWAYS BE A FAN OF THIS!

    Reply
  8. creekcreek6

    just to tell the truth i love vampires i think this book looks kinda itersting i will never ever stop liking vamp even cute ones .

    Reply
  9. witchunicorn5

    OMG! I luv My SIster The Vampire! I just had read the first 4 books and i m planning to download the rest of the books but i have exams knocking at my door…i m a total bookacholic. I read more than 70 A (adult) books and this like totally YA(YOUNG ADULT) BNOOK! i LUV IT! AND I LUV sOPHIA AND cAMLLA AND olliva’s mom! Send me a shout out, u My sister the vamp fans!

    Reply