August 29, 2012

The Westing Game Readalikes

Posted by at 3:08 am in Reads | Permalink

Westing-Game_74482522The Westing Game Readalikes

You know when you find an amazing book, and you never want it to end? How do you find another book to read after that? Our answer: Readalikes to the rescue! We hope our Readalikes will rescue you from the what-to-read-next question, and help you find lots of new amazing books.

Today’s Readalikes are for The Westing Game by Ellen Raskin. 16 different people are invited to a mansion to solve the death of the eccentric millionaire Sam Westing. Whoever can solve the mystery will inherit Westing’s 200-million dollar prize! You try to solve the puzzle too while you’re reading, but the plot is full of twists and turns to throw you off!

Ellen Raskin has written other fun mystery books like The Mysterious Disappearance of Leon (I Mean Noel), Figgs & Phantoms, and The Tattooed Potato and Other Clues. Once you’ve finished all those, what to read next? Look for these other books for ages 9-12 about mysterious circumstances and strange puzzles that must be solved.

Westing Game_7448252

When You Reach Me by Rebecca Stead
As her mother prepares to be a contestant on the 1970s television game show, “The $20,000 Pyramid,” a 12-year-old New York City girl tries to make sense of a series of mysterious notes received from an anonymous source that seems to defy the laws of time and space.

Scat by Carl Hiassen
When a fire starts near a wildlife preserve and a teacher goes missing, Nick and his friend Marta decide that they just have to investigate.

Holes by Louis Sachar
Stanley Yelnats’ family has been cursed ever since his great-great-grandfather stole a pig from a one-legged gypsy. Now Stanley has been sent to a boys’ detention center for a crime he didn’t commit. At the detention center, the warden makes the boys “build character” by spending all day, every day, digging holes: 5 feet wide and 5 feet deep. But Stanley knows it’s not about character building. The boys are digging holes because the warden is looking for something.

Floors by Patrick Carman
Leo’s father is the custodian of the mysterious and very wacky Whippet Hotel, a strange place full of hidden floors, bizarre puzzles, mazes, and secret rooms. When the hotel owner disappears, it’s up to Leo to solve the mystery. Armed with strange, colored boxes and a duck, he must uncover the secrets between the floors before the unthinkable happens. See also the sequel 3 Below.

Sammy Keyes and the Hotel Thief by Wendelin Van Draanen
After she witnesses a robbery taking places across the street, 7th grade ace detective, Sammy gets involved in the investigation. See also the other books in the Sammy Keyes series.

The Mysterious Benedict Society by Trenton Lee Stewart
Four children are selected for a secret undercover mission while attending the Learning Institute for the Very Enlightened. See also the other books in the Mysterious Benedict Society series.

Explorer: The Mystery Boxes edited by Kazu Kibuishi
Graphic novelists like Kazu Kibuishi, Raina Telgemeier, Dave Roman and others all created a short story for this collection of comics. Each of the stories centers on a mysterious box and the marvels and mayhem inside.

The Secret Series Book #1: The Name of this Book is Secret by Pseudonymous Bosch
Pseudonymous Bosch has a secret he can’t share. Or maybe he can, if you’re brave enough. A magician is dead, and it’s up to two 11-year-old misfits to figure out why and stop those responsible from wreaking more havoc. See also the other books in the Secret series.

Vanishing Acts: A Madison Kincaid Mystery by Philip Margolin and Ami Margolin Rome
7th grade Madison’s best friend is missing and she’s enlisted new kid Jake to help her track her down.

The Invention of Hugo Cabret by Brian Selznick
Hugo is an orphan living on his own in a Paris train station. When he comes across a mystery to do with his late father’s automaton, he will do whatever it takes to solve it.

Wonderstruck by Brian Selznick
50 years apart, but mysteriously connected, Ben and Rose secretly wish their lives were different. Ben longs for the father he has never known. Rose dreams of a mysterious actress whose life she chronicles in a scrapbook. When Ben discovers a puzzling clue and Rose reads an enticing headline in the newspaper, both children set out alone on desperate quests to find what they are missing.

Chasing Vermeer by Blue Balliett
When a famous painting goes missing, 11-year-old Petra and Calder must combine their talents to solve this international mystery. You solve the mystery along with the characters using the artwork throughout the story. See also The Wright 3 and The Calder Game.

The Clockwork Three by Matthew J. Kirby
Frederick, Giuseppe, and Hannah all live completely different lives. They are brought together by strange circumstances, and they must work together to solve each other’s mysteries.

A Wrinkle in Time by Madeleine L’Engle
Meg’s father is doing mysterious work for the government, but no one has heard from him in a long time, and they fear he is missing. Meg is determined to go to any lengths, even travel through time, to bring him back. See also the other books by Madeleine L’Engle.

Hope you enjoy our Readalikes!

—Jen, Scholastic Booktalker

Add a Comment

For your safety, comments will not appear until the moderator has approved them.
Comments may be edited for appropriateness and personal information.

  1. history23

    I love this book! and after looking at the readalikes, I found another book I loved! “The Clockwork Three” is great!

    Reply