August 8, 2012

Dork Diaries Readalikes

Posted by at 9:58 am in Reads | Permalink

ReadalikesYou know when you find an amazing book, and you never want it to end? How do you find another book to read after that? Our answer: Readalikes to the rescue! We hope our Readalikes will rescue you from the what-to-read-next question, and help you find lots of new, amazing books.Dork Diaries: Tales from a Not-So-Fabulous Life book cover by Rachel Renee Russell

Today’s Readalikes are for the Dork Diaries series. These books follow 8th-grader Nikki Maxwell as she describes her TRAUMATIC move to a snooty new school, her EPIC battle with her mom for an iPhone, and her issues with the CCP (Cool, Cute & Popular) kids, especially the SNOBBY Mackenzie.

There are 7 books in the series (and a movie coming out in 2015), but once you’ve finished all those, what to read next? Look for these other funny books about life in school for girls ages 9-12.

  • The Popularity Papers: Research for the Social Improvement and General Betterment of Lydia Goldblatt and Julie Graham-Chang by Amy Ignatow
    5th grade best friends Lydia and Julie decide to study the popular girls at their school to be better prepared to fit into the popular crowd in middle school. See also the other books in The Popularity Papers series.
  • Gossip from the Girls’ Room: A Blogtastic Novel by Rose Cooper
    Unpopular 6th-grader Sophia writes an anonymous blog on her middle school’s website, and keeps track of everything she overhears in the girls’ bathroom in her notebook.
  • Dear Dumb Diary Let’s Pretend This Never Happened by Jim Benton
    Jamie Kelly writes in her middle school diary and describes her life at home and school in humorous detail. Only Jamie’s dumb diary understands why Angeline is awful, her mom’s cooking is terrible, and why her little cousin is so annoying! See also the other books in the Dear Dumb Diary series.
  • Boys Are Dogs by Leslie Margolis
    While training her new puppy, 6th-grader Annabelle discovers that many of the same techniques can be used to tame the crazy boys in her middle school.
  • Smile by Raina Telgemeier
    Author Raina describes in humorous and heartbreaking detail the traumas she went through in 6th grade before and after getting braces.
  • Drama by Raina Telgemeier
    Callie is the set designer for her middle school drama production, but the onstage drama is nothing compared to the offstage drama that occurs once the actors are chosen. When two cute brothers enter the picture, things get even crazier!
  • How I Survived Middle School Can You Get an F in Lunch? by Nancy Krulik
    Jenny and Addie have always been best friends, but when Addie decides she wants to join the Pops, the coolest clique in the school, Jenny is worried she may lose her best friend. See also the other books in the How I Survived Middle School series.
  • Middle School Is Worse than Meatloaf: A Year Told Through Stuff by Jennifer Holm
    Ginny can’t wait for 7th grade to end, especially when it involves getting braces, annoying brothers, and losing the lead in the ballet to your ex-best friend. In this story told entirely through notes, grocery receipts, and a variety of other items, Ginny’s first year of middle school is revealed in gruesome and hilarious detail!
  • The Misfits by James Howe
    Four unpopular 7th-graders create a “No-Name” party for the student council elections representing all the students that have been picked on and called mean names in school.
  • Amelia’s Notebooks by Marissa Moss
    Moving away from your best friend isn’t fun, but at least Amelia has her notebook to write about her life as she struggles with friends, school and of course, gossip. See also the other books in the Amelia’s Notebooks series.
  • Harriet the Spy by Louise Fitzhugh
    Harriet never goes anywhere without her journal. But when her classmates find her notebook and discover what she really thinks of them, Harriet has some serious explaining to do!

Hope you enjoy our Readalikes!

—Amanda, Scholastic Booktalker

Add a Comment

For your safety, comments will not appear until the moderator has approved them.
Comments may be edited for appropriateness and personal information.

  1. eeeew

    its the best book ever!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Reply
  2. marlene

    omg these are the best series in the world i mean it they are halurous and so interesting .Some times i read a book of dork diaries in one or two days.I cant hold the curiosity.OR just stay up all night JUST TO READ THE BOOK.

    Reply
  3. vivika

    I just love the new dork diary it is so amaz im mean like of the hook who wrote it the are so cool im reading miss know it all so i want to know who wrote it

    Reply
  4. julia

    I really like dorkdiaries i think its a really good book. But I also really like Diary Of A Wimpy Kid a lot and I know A lot of Other kids enjoy reading it also!

    Reply
  5. amazingathlete

    Omg I read this book once and i loved it all my friends said it was amazing and i just felt the urge to read it it is so interesting but i havent had time to read the next one wish i had more tim in the day but anyways this book is so amazing it is a wonderful book.

    Reply
  6. basketballred104

    I also read the Dork Diaries books they are so funny.The only one i have to read is the last one. I bet it’s going to be great. I CAN’T WAIT!!!!!!!!! I hope that more come out.

    Reply
  7. cutie3500

    This will really help me! I LOVE the Dork Diaries, and will be really sad when it’s over. Maybe these books can shrink my eventual sadness.

    Reply