August 21, 2012

Diary of a Wimpy Kid Readalikes

Posted by at 4:48 pm in Diary of a Wimpy Kid, Reads | Permalink

WimpyKid_ColorTitle_130Diary of a Wimpy Kid Readalikes

You know when you find an amazing book, and you never want it to end? How do you find another book to read after that? Our answer: Readalikes to the rescue! We hope our Readalikes will rescue you from the what-to-read-next question, and help you find lots of new amazing books.

Today’s Readalikes are for the Diary of a Wimpy Kid series by Jeff Kinney. These books follow Greg Heffley as he enters middle school with the goal of increasing his popularity. Unfortunately, Greg is just kind of an average kid, probably not destined for mega-popularity.

There are 8 books in the series, and 3 movies, but once you’ve finished all those, what to read next? Look for these other funny books for ages 9-12 about life, school, and just being a regular kid. Get ready for a whole bunch of other Diary of a Wimpy Kid Readalike books you might also love.

The Loser List by H. N. Kowitt
When Danny finds out he’s on the infamous “Loser List” in the girls’ bathroom, his mission to erase it lands him in detention. The school’s bullies (who live in detention) discover that Danny can draw, and suddenly he is supplying tattoos and graffiti for the bullies instead of getting beaten up by them. Is Danny going from dork to delinquent? See also the other books in The Loser List series.

Aldo Zelnick Comic Novel #1: Artsy-Fartsy by Karla Oceanak
Aldo Zelnick thinks being an artist is uncool, but after his grandmother gives him a sketchbook for the summer, Aldo fills it with cartoons describing his life. See also the other books in the Aldo Zelnick Comic Novel series.

The Fourth Stall by Chris Rylander
If you have a problem, and you can pay him, 6th-grader Mac is on your side. His office is located in the East Wing boys’ bathroom, fourth stall from the high window. And business is booming.

Dead End in Norvelt by Jack Gantos
Grounded “for life” by his parents, Jack has to spend his summer helping his crotchety old neighbor type obituaries for all the other old people in his town when they die. But the strange thing is, they seem to be dying a lot. What’s going on? You wouldn’t think about a book about old people dying would be funny, but trust me, it is.

Swindle by Gordon Korman
After a mean collector named Swindle cons him out of his most valuable baseball card, Griffin Bing puts together a band of misfits to break into Swindle’s compound and recapture the card. There are many things standing in their way — a menacing guard dog, a high-tech security system, a very secret hiding place, and their inability to drive — but Griffin and his team are going to get back what’s rightfully his . . . even if hijinks ensue. See also the other books in the Swindle series.

The Strange Case of Origami Yoda by Tom Angleberger
Dwight is the weirdest kid at school, but his origami version of Yoda seems to know everything about everyone, especially their crushes! As they interact with the Jedi master, Tommy and his fellow 6th-graders realize that Dwight/Yoda is mysteriously wise, and may even be able to predict the future. See also the sequel Darth Paper Strikes Back.

Griff Carver, Hallway Patrol by Jim Krieg
Don’t mess with Griff. He’s got a badge; he enforces the rules, and he’s the toughest hallway patrolman there is. And if you are a criminal, he’s your worst nightmare. But when Griff links cool kid Marcus “The Smile” Volger to a counterfeit hall pass ring, can he and his friends close the case?

Seriously, Norman! by Chris Raschka
After Norman bombs the biggest test of his life, he and his friends embark on a world adventure with Norman’s crazy new tutor, and ask the question, “Why are grown-ups so insane?”

Big Nate Book # 1: In a Class by Himself by Lincoln Peirce
Nate knows he’s destined to do great things in his life. But can he stay out of trouble long enough to prove it? See also the other books in the Big Nate series.

Dork Diaries Book #1: Tales from a Not-So-Fabulous Life by Rachel Renee Russell
Nikki knows that starting at a new school is terrifying, but when she’s called a dork by the most popular girl, she wonders if her life could get any worse! See also the other books in the Dork Diaries series.

Jack Adrift: Fourth Grade Without a Clue by Jack Gantos
In love with his teacher and assigned to snitch on his classmates by the principal, the 4th grade sure isn’t what Jack expected! See also the other books in the Jack Henry series.

The Wednesday Wars by Gary D. Schmidt
The story of 7th-grader Holling Hoodhood from suburban Long Island in 1967 who is stuck spending his Wednesday afternoons with his teacher Mrs. Baker . . . who is clearly trying to kill him with Shakespeare.

Frindle by Andrew Clements
Nick’s the cleverest boy at school, and proves it by creating a new word. But when everyone starts using it, he learns how quickly situations get out of control!

Hope you enjoy our Readalikes!

—Jen, Scholastic Booktalker

Add a Comment

For your safety, comments will not appear until the moderator has approved them.
Comments may be edited for appropriateness and personal information.

  1. griffingreen10

    What happened to Diary of a Wimpy Kid The Ugly Truth!I thought they were going to make that into a movie but they just skipped it.

    Reply
  2. DOLPHINAQUA1157

    I love the Diary of a Wimpy Kid series.I hear there is a number 8 coming out soon!!! Can’t wait to read it! :-D

    Reply
  3. yuri122112

    I love the books and the author is funny can she make one about like hunger games with Diary of a Wimpy Kid?

    Reply
  4. brilliantblue16

    I have read most of the books except new one coming this Nov. 2012. They are great so far, just like the movies. Can’t wait to read the next book.

    Reply
  5. bloodhoundelbow90

    the reason i like this series is because its kind of funny and wierd like when fregly put his bugar on a piece of paper and said sorry for chasing him around with it now that was just plain weird.

    Reply