June 27, 2012

Nancy Drew Readalikes

Posted by at 3:20 am in Reads | Permalink

Book_titleYou know when you find an amazing book, and you never want it to end? How do you find another book to read after that? Our answer: Readalikes to the rescue! We hope our Readalikes will rescue you from the what-to-read-next question, and help you find lots of new amazing books.

Today’s Readalikes are for the classic mystery detective Nancy Drew series by Carolyn Keene. 18-year-old Nancy Drew is beautiful, bold, intelligent, wealthy, and can pretty much solve any mystery that gets thrown at her. Even though these books were first published in the 1930s, Nancy Drew is still the ultimate teen detective.

There are a bunch of books in that series, as well as the movie Nancy Drew. But once you’ve finished all those, what to read next? Try these other mysteries with super-smart detectives.

Sammy Keyes and the Hotel Thief by Wendelin Van Draanen
After she witnesses a robbery taking places across the street, 7th grade ace detective, Sammy gets involved in the investigation. See also the other books in the Sammy Keyes series.

Sleuth or Dare Book #1: Partners in Crime by Kim Harrington
Best friends Darcy and Norah create a fake detective agency! But then their pretend agency gets a real case. Someone is missing, and it’s up to Darcy and Norah to take on the search. Can Darcy and Norah crack the case in time? See also the other books in the Sleuth or Dare series.

The Sisters Grimm Book #1: The Fairy-Tale Detectives by Michael Buckley
Orphans Sabrina and Daphne are sent to live with their grandmother, an unusual old woman whom they believe to be dead, and discover that fairy tales may not be fiction after all. See also the other books in the Sisters Grimm series.

The Secret Series Book #1: The Name of this Book is Secret by Pseudonymous Bosch
Pseudonymous Bosch has a secret he can’t share. Or maybe he can, if you’re brave enough. A magician is dead, and it’s up to two 11-year-old misfits to figure out why and stop those responsible from wreaking more havoc. See also the other books in the Secret series.

The Mysterious Benedict Society by Trenton Lee Stewart
Four children are selected for a secret undercover mission while attending the Learning Institute for the Very Enlightened. See also the other books in the Mysterious Benedict Society series.

The 39 Clues Book #1: The Maze of Bones by Rick Riordan
After their grandmother passes away, siblings Amy and Dan Cahill must race the rest of their greedy (and deadly) family to be the first to uncover 39 clues and the mystery involving their family. See also the other books in the 39 Clues series.

The Genius Files Book #1: Mission Unstoppable by Dan Gutman
13-year-old twins, Coke and Pepsi McDonald, discover they are on the list of YAGs (Young American Geniuses), and must work with other YAGs to solve the nation’s problems. See also the other books in the Genius Files series.

Chasing Vermeer by Blue Balliett
When a famous painting goes missing, 11-year-old Petra and Calder must combine their talents to solve this international mystery. You solve the mystery along with the characters using the artwork throughout the story. See also The Wright 3 and The Calder Game.

The Westing Game by Ellen Raskin
16 different people are invited to a mansion to solve the death of the eccentric millionaire Sam Westing. Whoever can solve the mystery will inherit Westing’s 200-million dollar prize!

The London Eye Mystery by Siobhan Dowd
Ted and Kat’s cousin entered the London Eye ferris wheel, but he never exited. Now, Ted and Kat must put their heads together to find out what happened to him — before it is too late.

The Sherlock Files Book #1: The 100-Year-Old Secret by Tracy Barrett
When Xena and Xander Holmes discover that Sherlock was their great-great-great grandfather, they take it upon themselves to solve unsolved mysteries from his 100-year-old casebook. See also the other books in the Sherlock Files series.

Mudshark by Gary Paulsen
Principal Wagner is always in control of his school, but when sixty-five erasers go missing, he enlists the help infamous 12-year-old detective Mudshark.

The Midnight Tunnel: A Suzanna Snow Mystery by Angie Frazier
It is 1905 and Suzanna works at her family’s inn in Loch Harbor, but she wants to be a detective like her uncle. When a young guest disappears, can Zanna solve the mystery before her uncle closes the case? See also The Mastermind Plot.

Hope you enjoy our Readalikes!

—Amanda, Scholastic Booktalker

Add a Comment

For your safety, comments will not appear until the moderator has approved them.
Comments may be edited for appropriateness and personal information.

  1. bluebird1204

    the secret of the old clock was easy to solve the case but i read the ringmasters secret and the clue in the old album and they were amazing Carolyn Keene rocks

    Reply
  2. rachael

    i didn’t know this was a nancy drew book, but it looks interesting. I’ll see if i can read it.

    Reply
  3. soccermvp

    I absolutely love the Nancy Drew books!! although i prefer the newer ones to the older ones, but ill still read them. And i love the sleuth or dare series!!

    Reply
  4. Isla Silvercresent

    another readalike to nancy drew would be “the Agnecy” series. the first 3 books are, “A Spy in the House”, “The Body at the Tower”, and “The Traitor in the Tunnel”. The author is Y. S. Lee. This is my ABSOLUTE favorite series!

    Reply
  5. moonlightdragon15

    Hi everyone!
    I used to post as Labrador but now I created an account! Anyways this is really cool.. wanna read these for sure!

    Reply
  6. Horsecheery11

    I love Nancy Drew mysteries. I love the secret of Shadow ranch. And the secret of the old clock! I have almost every book except for number 8, and 3. I’ve read them though. Yup! Nancy drew sure rings a bell for me!

    Reply
  7. Gillian

    I really loved the Nancy Drew series!! I’ve read ALL of them, but the thing that I most Importly didn’t like about it was the more you got to the end of the series, it became SOO predictable!! And it always seemed that why I’m I reading these if I’m so bored with them? But I stuck to it and I’m glad to say I’ve them all.

    Reply