January 26, 2009

And the Award Goes to . . .

Posted by at 7:47 pm in News, Reads | Permalink

The American Library Association awards were announced today! The Newbery, Caldecott, and a whole bunch of other exciting and important awards for the best children’s books of the year were announced this morning from Denver, CO.

Here is the rundown of the winners (and the Honor books too — a.k.a. the runners-up):

GraveyardbookNewbery Medal
Awarded for the most distinguished contribution to American literature for children.

The Graveyard Book by Neil Gaiman

Honor Books:
The Underneath by Kathi Appelt, illustrated by David Small
The Surrender Tree: Poems of Cuba’s Struggle for Freedom by Margarita Engle
Savvy by Ingrid Law
After Tupac & D Foster by Jacqueline Woodson

House-in-the-night-coverCaldecott Medal
Awarded for the most distinguished American picture book for children.

The House in the Night by Beth KrommesHonor Books:
A Couple of Boys Have the Best Week Ever, written and illustrated by Marla FrazeeHow I Learned Geography, written and illustrated by Uri Shulevitz

A River of Words: The Story of William Carlos Williams, illustrated by Melissa Sweet, written by Jen Bryant


Geisel Award
Awarded for the most distinguished American “beginning reader” book.

Are You Ready to Play Outside? by Mo Willems

Honor Books:
Chicken said, ‘Cluck!’ by Judyann Ackerman Grant, illustrated by Sue
One Boy, written and illustrated by
Laura Vaccaro Seeger
Stinky, written and illustrated by Eleanor Davis
Wolfsnail: A Backyard Predator by Sarah C. Campbell, with photographs
by Sarah C. Campbell and Richard P. Campbell

Printz Award

Awarded for the most distinguished Young Adult book.

Jellicoe Road by Melina Marchetta

Honor Books:
The Astonishing Life of Octavian Nothing, Traitor to the Nation, Volume
II, The Kingdom on the Waves
by M.T. Anderson
The Disreputable History of Frankie Landau-Banks
by E. Lockhart
Nation by Terry Pratchett
Tender Morsels by Margo Lanagan

William C. Morris Award

Awarded for the most distinguished Young Adult book by a first-time author writing for teens.

A Curse Dark as Gold by Elizabeth C. Bunce

Margaret A. Edwards Award
Awarded for lifetime achievement in writing for young adults.

Laurie Halse Anderson

Sibert Medal

Awarded for the most distinguished informational book.

We Are the Ship by Kadir NelsonHonor Books:
Bodies from the Ice: Melting Glaciers and Rediscovery of The Past by James M. Deem
What to Do About Alice?: How Alice Roosevelt Broke the Rules, Charmed
the World, and Drove Her Father Teddy Crazy!
written by Barbara
Kerley, illustrated by Edwin Fotheringham

Coretta Scott King Awards

Recognizes one African-American author and and one African-American illustrator.

Author Winner:
We Are the Ship by Kadir Nelson

Author Honor Books:
The Blacker the Berry by Joyce Carol Thomas, illustrated by Floyd
Keeping the Night Watch by Hope Anita Smith, illustrated
by E.B. Lewis
Billie Holiday
by Carole Boston Weatherford, illustrated by Floyd

Illustrator Winner:

The Blacker the Berry
, illustrated by Floyd Cooper and written by Joyce Carol Thomas

Illustrator Honor Books:
We Are the Ship: The Story of Negro League Baseball written and
illustrated by Kadir Nelson
Before John Was a
Jazz Giant
by Carole Boston Weatherford, illustrated by Sean Qualls
The Moon Over Star by Dianna
Hutts Aston, illustrated by Jerry Pinkney

Pura Belpre Awards

Recognizes one Latino/Latina writer and one Latino/Latina writer illustrator whose work best portray, affirm, and celebrate the Latino cultural experience.

Illustrator Winner:
Just in Case by Yuyi MoralesIllustrator Honor Books:
Papa and Me illustrated by Rudy Gutierrez, written by Arthur Dorros
Storyteller’s Candle / La velita de los cuentos
illustrated by Lulu
Delacre, written by Lucia Gonzalez
What Can You Do with a Rebozo? illustrated by Amy Cordova,
written by Carmen Tafolla
 Author Winner:
The Surrender Tree by Margarita Engle

Author Honor Books:
Just in Case by Yuyi Morales
Reaching Out by Francisco Jimenez
The Storyteller’s Candle /
La velita de los cuentos
written by Lucia Gonzalez

 Schneider Award
Awarded for books that embody the artistic expression of the disability experience.

Teen Winner:
Jerk, California by Jonathan FriesanMiddle School Winner:
ThepianostartshereWaiting for Normal by Leslie ConnorGrade School Winner:
Piano Starts Here: The Young Art Tatum by Robert Andrew Parker

Carnegie Medal
Awarded for outstanding American video production.

March On! The Day My Brother Martin Changed the World, produced by Weston Woods

Laura Ingalls Wilder Award
Recognizes an author or illustrator whose books have made a substantial and lasting contribution to literature for children.

Ashley Brian

Batchelder Award

Awarded for the most outstanding children’s book originally published in a language other than English in a country other than the United States.

Moribito: Guardian of the Spirit by Nahoko Uehasi, translated by Cathy HiranoHonor Books:
Garmann’s Summer by Stian Hole, translated by Don Bartlett
Tiger Moon by Antonia Michaelis, translated by Anthea Bell

Odyssey Award

Awarded for excellence in audiobook production.

The Absolutely True Diary of a Part-Time Indian
, read by Sherman Alexie

Honor Audiobooks:
Curse of the Blue Tattoo: Being an Account of the Misadventures of
Jacky Faber, Midshipman and Fine Lady
written by L.A. Meyer, narrated
by Katherine Kellgren
Elijah of Buxton written by Christopher Paul Curtis, narrated by
Mirron Willis
I’m Dirty! written by Kate &
Jim McMullan, narrated by Steve Buscemi
Martina the Beautiful Cockroach: A Cuban
, written and narrated by Carmen Agra Deedy
Nation written by Terry Pratchett, narrated by
Stephen Briggs

Did any of your favorite books win?

— Sonja, Scholastic.com Editor

Comments are closed.